Ho Ho Ho!

Thanksgiving was a spectacularly uneventful and quiet affair with lots of family gathered to feast at my parents’ house. My mom cooked the entire meal for all 15 of us.

 IMG_1073

Nobody was very keen on the idea of having pictures taken, so I can’t show the group in its entirety.

IMG_1078

While there I pulled out some family albums and took pictures of the pictures.  This one was taken in 1976.  It includes me as dorky looking 10 year old, my teenaged sister looking annoyed to be positioned with her siblings and my little brother was obviously plotting to do something rotten.

christmas1976

We only stayed the one night and as soon as we returned home we started decorating for Christmas.  This isn’t the best picture, but it a little tree decorated with the antique mercury glass ornaments that belonged to my husband’s mom.  They really sparkle, but many of them are losing the color on the inside and they’re extremely fragile.

mercuryglass

We haven’t got a fireplace in our new home, so we crammed all 9 of our stockings (the critters each have one too) onto a holder in the living room for now.

stockings

The bar between the kitchen and living area has two different heights of surface area, so we set up the Christmas village on both levels and it can be viewed from all angles.  We didn’t have enough room for all of the buildings, so there is a “suburb” on the dresser at the end of the hallway.

wintervillage

My girls like to tweak the village.  So far I found a wee basket of kittens in the river, one of the carolers poised on top of a building ready to jump, Santa doing something completely inappropriate with a reindeer and one of the girls added this sign, A Doctor Who reference to the weeping angels, to the city square fountain.

villageangel

They are a silly lot! 

This morning we handed over the keys to our former home.  I didn’t cry or carry on, but I’ve felt a bit blue all day.  When we moved there 7 years ago we honestly intended to have it be our permanent home.  Still, we are making out quite nicely in our new place and we’re settling into a routine.

This next weekend we will make the drive down to Camp Withycombe to pick up a Christmas tree.  It will go next to the village on the living room side of the partition. 

Yesterday one of the new neighbors came across the street and introduced himself.  He seemed very nice.  The unpacking goes at a snail’s pace, but that’s okay.  I’ve been taking every opportunity possible to work on dishrags. My knitting speed has really picked back up, but I’m still not able to manipulate small needles or make lace.  Hope everyone is staying warm and safe. Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Ho Ho Ho!

  1. Karen

    Your girls are so precious! I read that out loud and now Camille wants to build a Christmas village. Hugs!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    Sounds like you’re doing well. Moving is such a huge upheaval and your saga was such an emotional roller-coaster for you all. I love the pic of you and your sibs, the Christmas village and Thanksgiving. Hugs!

  3. Roxie Matthews

    Hugs and love and all holiday joy. I love it when you share with us!

  4. I love the fun the girls are having with the village!

Leave a Reply

