June is Busting Out All Over

I have absolutely no new knitting to share.  I have been doing a fair amount of spinning though.  I’ve filled a few bobbins with some two-ply, lace-weight yarn.  It is a blend of wool from KnitPicks. Lots of gray shows here, but there are large stretches of periwinkle and fuschia twists as well.  It needs blocking to set the twist and then I’ll calculate yardage and a project.  I’m leaning towards a shawl.

yarnunblocked

 

In other news, A3 is extremely excited because she was given a class fish from her biology teacher.  I clarified with said teacher that the fish wasn’t expected to be returned after summer vacation.  The longevity of goldfish is iffy.  Some last for years, while others barely make it several hours in a new tank.  After much deliberation she finally settled on naming her new pet, “Jeff”.  Jeff is the orange fish, Alphonse is our old man (we’re guessing on the sex) and he has outlived quite a few tank mates.  He’s excited to have something other than a mirror for company.

 

jeffpresson

 

The front of our house if a riot of roses. Some are barely shrubs, while more ambitious plants have stems four feet tall.  I need to get out and tend to them (and the rest of the yard), but kid duties eat up all possible work time.  Hopefully this weekend some progress will be made.

IMG_2208

Just a few more weeks and another school year will be behind us.  I don’t know whether to cheer or cry.  

ps, the title is from the play, “Carousel”.  I was a chorus member in a community play company that performed that in 1984.  The roses reminded me of the song and now it’s stuck in my head.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “June is Busting Out All Over

  1. Gillian

    Carousel was the first movie I ever went to see! It was on at The Odeon and I went with a friend and my sister but I was the only one who cried.
    The spinning looks so professional and would suit a lacy shawl really well.
    Keep well yourself!
    Cheers Gillian

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    Your spinning is gorgeous! My Mom’s middle name was June and my dad (an organist and pianist) would play it for her whenever he could. They had “You’ll Never Walk Alone” performed at their wedding. That show is loaded with emotional memories for me, Love Jeff. It’s so good to hear from you! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

