Not giving up, just moving on

I’ve always believed that knowing your weaknesses can be one of your biggest strengths.  There are several ways to handle personal short comings. Obviously identification and moving beyond denial are crucial before attempting either of these steps.  First, seek improvement through study, practice and hard work.  If this doesn’t yield results then learn to emphasize your strengths and avoid or down play what isn’t “fixable”.  Why mention this?  Well, this weekend I had an epiphany.  I CAN’T SPIN! 

This past year I’ve tried both a top-whorl drop spindle (thank you Cindy) as well as weightier bottom-whorl top spindle.  Both tools are well-crafted and the fibers I’ve destroyed in yarn-making attempts were of the finest quality.  Now, I hate to keep beating that proverbial dead horse, but my left side really doesn’t work as it should and I might be able to spin just fine on a wheel.  But I haven’t the resources, time or space for such an investment.  I’m beyond denial. So I’ve decided to follow option two and avoid spinning altogether.  All quality time will be spent transforming a ridiculously large yarn stash into knitted delights.  

Last year my mom purchased some Canadian White Buffalo 6 strand fiber at a yard sale.  The colors consisted of black, gray and some undyed natural.  I don’t know how this particular fiber was/is intended to be used,  but it resembles pencil roving.  It looks like it could be used for spinning, felting or even knitting.  Anyway, prior to my enlightenment I spun a few strands of the natural with my drop spindle and was completely unimpressed.  Not only was the yarn down right boring, but it was hard to see (drat my middle-aged eyes).  As an experiment I decided to add a little color. 

Now, I do happen to own  a virtual rainbow of Procion dyes, ash, gloves, masks, etc.,  basically everything necessary to produce some lovely yarns and fibers.  What’s lacking are the knowledge and courage to try chemical dyes.  So out came the Wilton, vinegar and pots.  Bright, saturated, vibrant colors were sought.  Pale, quiet and faded hues emerged. Another trip through a dye bath might felt or otherwise destroy this beyond repair. 

SO,  if there is anybody out there willing to adopt abused and unappreciated fiber for spinning etc., then please drop me an email or leave a comment.   You will be saving vulnerable, helpless wool from a horrible fate.  Just think, for the price of… nothing,  you can make a difference.  I will send you both the roving that I just dyed as well as other fibers from my stash.

dscn2040.jpgdscn2037.JPG

Please note that the almost included kitty above is in no way related to the wet tablecloth.  The roving had been setting there while waiting to be placed on a drying rack.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Not giving up, just moving on

  1. I feel the same way about weaving. If you’re truly not meant for something, it’s enlightening to let it go. At some point, however, you might want to take a spinning class using wheels. I get incredible “ohm” effects with the wheel and drop spindles are completely frustrating…far more “drop and roll” spindles than anything productive. Just my own experience.

    I wanted to reply to your last comment and I couldn’t reply or find an email link 😦 Would you consider sending a regular email to polekatz at juno dot com?

  2. I’ve been lurking lately but haven’t commented. Glad you found me again, too!

    I could take the spinning stuff off your hands, but would rather you tried it another way. Wish I could sit you down at my wheel and let you give it a try.

    If it helps at all, I am right handed but spin lefty (according to the teachers). I hold my fiber in the right hand at the wheel and at the spindle. I CANNOT draft the other way AT ALL. So maybe you should switch sides. Just a thought.

  3. I know what you mean – I’ve got a bunch of fiber and a couple of spindles, but I just can’t make them WORK either!!! I’m not quite ready to give up yet though. 🙂 Although I secretly fear I just lack the basic coordination it takes to spin (or walk around without bumping into walls or tripping over my own feet!!)

  4. I’ve just started hand spinnng with the cheapest drop spindle I could find. I’m not very good. but I find the process incredibly calming. I don’t have much fiber, so if you are REALLY sure, I’d be delighted to take some off your hands.

    I’m so glad to have found your blog…thanks for the comment on mine.

  5. Am I too late for the fiber? My Lendrum says she’d love to give it a whirl.

  6. I’m sorry, but I honestly understand. You really don’t have time to knit, much less mess with spinning. Don’t give away the spindles. When (and if)you ever want to give it a try again, let me know and I’ll send you some more roving.

  7. Whoo hoo! There have been three people interested so the fiber will be divided up into three parcels and sent to fulfill its destiny. I’m hanging onto my spindles though in case I should find just scads of extra time on my hands.

  8. V

    Welp, I’m too late! 🙂 It’s probably for the best. Though my spinning has gotten slightly better, I still find myself thinking “I’m not good at this….I should be spending this time knitting!” But I do so lust after a wheel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

