Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all of my beer drinking Leprechaun friends! Sorry for the lack of blogging lately, but I’m still sick.   Whatever this is, it’s nasty. I can’t seem to get rid of the fever and now I’ve lost my voice too.  The latter of which proves delightful to my children who’ve been running amuck unchecked.   If there is no improvement by Monday then I’ll contact the dreaded HMO for an appointment.   I’ve not been able to knit so there is nothing fun and exciting to share on that front.  Yesterday the sun came out though and the sky really is still blue behind the clouds.  Thank you to all who have left comments.  I love my blog friends!

I’ve been researching some different spinning wheel options.  I know that I suck at using a drop spindle, but the lovely yarns others have been creating have me yearning to try again. If there are any of you out there who have tried non-conventional wheels; such as this all metal Columbine or one of the pvc Babe wheels then I’d love to hear your opinions about them. The wooden wheels are more beautiful, but I’m looking at other factors too, such as price and durability. 

And finally, here are some pictures highlighting some of the challenges of establishing a vegetable garden at our new home.  This  appears to be the most likely location.

dscn2113.jpg

Notice the abundant weeds, heavy shade from the nearby cedar trees and the proximity to our house?   In addition, the soil is comprised of slippery, acidic clay.

dscn2114.jpg

Pruning back the cedars and building raised beds with individual watering systems would work best.  This way the soil contents could be regulated and water damage to the house could be eliminated.  The biggest road blocks are the lack of time and energy. 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. Sounds like the same thing I’ve been stuck with; it just won’t go away! I even did the antibiotics but still don’t feel myself. So I feel for ya’ hon! Hope the good old HMO can help you out and that you’re better soon

  2. CindyCindy

    OK. I have a Babe and it’s fine, but I don’t feel like it will hold up. Maybe it’s because I have an Ashford Joy, too. I’ve always been intriqued by the Columbine, but have absolutely no experience with it. Now, the garden. How about containers this year??? Do you compost? You could start conditioning the soil this year and use containers and by next year the soil will be much more conditioned. I’m interested to know what you guys decide. Take care of yourself. We had snow flurries today. 70 one day 30 the next. Gotta love it.

  3. Nice to see you posting again. Hope you feel better again really soon. RE: the vege garden….SO worth it. :o) Hugs.

  4. TruckRLady

    I know your the avid gardener of the neighborhood, but just remember…there are no more Pennys, Bills, or other better-gardener-than-thou types living next to you anymore (I hope). Don’t feel like you have to do it all at once. Start small, buy the starts, and go when you feel up to it. You ARE ONLY human after all 😉
    Feel Better! (Sending soothing tea thoughts and warm blanket hugs)

  5. I can’t wait until the weather is warm enough here for gardening. Not that I’m going to plant a garden because the dog will rip it up as he zooms around his racetrack (racetrack = my back yard). Just want the warm weather since we had a huge snowstorm here in New England over the weekend.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

