Friday Update!

image0025.jpg

Here is a picture showing the Hogwart’s Sock Swap  progress to date.  So far the needles have been purchased, the stitch markers completed but alas, there is only one lonely sock.  Hopefully the second will be cast on and measurable progress will be seen by the end of the long weekend.  I’m very nervous that 1. they won’t fit properly or 2. that  she won’t like them.  Maybe a second pair in a different pattern will be made just in case…

image0024.jpg

I purchased some Tussah Silk via ebay and will attempt spinning… again. It is amazing to touch, but it definately handles differently than wool.

image0026.jpg

Several inches of the front piece of the tank top have been finished. I’ll need another trip to my LYS though before it can be finished.  That wee little bit on the right is all that remains of the yarn.

image0027.jpg

These four squares will be mailed out for the Rebuilding Greensburg  project today after the ends are woven in.  Hopefully I can make more later, but in the meantime I fear that if not mailed that these will be lost amongst the clutter.

Now off to walk the girls to the bus stop and get ready for work.  Cheers all and have a great/safe holiday weekend!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Friday Update!

  1. 1. I love that sock. Anyone in their right mind would.
    2. 4 squares? you rock!
    3. I still love the tank. Can’t wait til you finish.
    4. Silk? How cool is that? Will you dye it, too? Be patient. Silk is slick I think. I just go real slow.
    It’s also really good you quit your job, eh? Have a terrific weekend and take care, kiddo.

  2. Rae

    Hey congrats on the one sock! You are half way there. I should finish up my one sock tonight on the drive to Bull Prairie in Oregon. Great place to go fishing….

  3. If she doesn’t just love them, tell her to send them to me. I think they are terrific.

  4. I’m sure the photo doesn’t do it justice, but the tank looks kind of silvery. The neckline almost has a chain mail look to it, like the new costume for Xena, the Next Generation. KIDDING!! Sorry–I hope I don’t give you college flashbacks…
    Can’t wait to see it finished! Hope I get a chance to drive down there in the next few weeks!
    Love, K

  5. Love how everything is going. As for the squares, I weave in connecting joins, but never weave in the ends. I deliberately leave a long end for seaming. BTW, thanks for nominating me for best KTE partner — I am one of the winners!! 🙂
    Bunny hugs!
    =:8

  6. Jessica

    I think the sock looks great! I can’t wait to see the finished tank, though it’s looking good now. How do you like spinning on the spindle? Silk is a little different. It doesn’t have the grab of wool, but depending on your silk it might have a very long staple.

    Take care.

  7. Wow that silk looks amazing. I think the Hogwart sock is terrific too. You’ll change your mind when you see the pair all finished I’m sure. :o) Enjoy your weekend.

  8. Awww, there’s some real goodies here to see – the silk looks amazing indeed, and what a totally cool sock!

  9. Gillian

    So much production! The sock pattern looks really great. No doubt that a couple of stripes at the top of a sock give it class.
    Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

