What’s new…

Well, the lure of the Golding’s beautiful fiber tools proved too irresistible to pass up.  Both Tom and Diane were delightful to communicate with and the shipment was amazingly fast, especially considering that I made a special order.  Remember the coveted sock-in-progress case?  Tom was able to convert one of their sock needle cases to a sock-in-progress case.  It’s lovely, sturdy and hopefully it will save the more delicate and pricey needles often broken while traveling to and from work. 

image0029.jpgimage0030.jpg

The next one I order will be in a larger size with a larger slot to accommodate a “manly” sized sock.

And the Tsunami Spindle?  It practically spins itself.  Work and other commitments are all that have prevented me from turning this pile of assorted fibers into yarn.  The larger pile on the left is a combination of Tussah Silk and Baby Camel. It’s very soft, but the fibers are pretty slick.  I’m hoping to make a two plied, worsted weight yarn for a hat from this.

image0032.jpg

Last night while watering my  poor, neglected weed patch garden I noticed the first strawberries had ripened.  They were yummy!  Our pantry is sorely lacking in jams and jellies right now, but fruit will have to be purchased this year before more can be made.  I doubt that these new plants will produce enough this first year for preserving.

 image0031.jpg

I completed the tank top, tried it on and was seriously displeased. Today I’ll unsew it (damn it, this was one of my best finishing jobs and the ends are really hard to find and rip out) then frog back the front down to below the chest and start again.

In other news we’re back into that automobile purgatory.  Impressing the neighbors and driving the newest, most expensive cars have never been considerations for us.  We typically buy something and pay it off immediately (last time we sold some stock) and then drive it until the wheels fall off.  This time around we really don’t have any stocks, etc. that we feel comfortable parting with.  Last year’s 7 months of unemployment is still wreaking havoc as we try and recuperate.  Anyway, the dilemma is this; our old van is in the shop… again.  We just spent a fortune replacing the transmission in January.  This go-around will be about $1,000.  We know it’s probably reaching that “wheels falling off”  point, but we don’t want a car payment. Then again, if the repair bills are costing $4000 to $5000 a year should we just bite that proverbial bullet and buy a replacement?  I detest everything about car shopping.  If we do decide to buy a replacement then that means we just put in a new transmission for nothing because the slime bags  car dealers/salesmen are never going to give a trade-in allotment even worth the recent repairs.  I’m a terrible negotiator.   And the DH’s car is looking like it will soon follow suit.  Enough whining.  Hope you all have a fabulous weekend.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What’s new…

  1. Total bummer about the van girl. Seems like we’ve been there done that on alot of our cars too. Right now we really need to replace our son’s rolling deathtrap that he only uses in the summer for work. And knitting hubby uses the rest of the year to leave at the airport for travel. We are waiting for a “push pull or drag sale”.

  2. Oh, poor you, I so feel with you about the car thing! The same’s going on over here – we tend to spend as little as possible on our cars and then get the nightmares when the mechanics-payments show up – and of course they do heavily with such old cars! New ones would rid us of these headaches, but then again, as you said, who could afford these? Plus – even new cars can break down – we call them “Monday cars” over here, that’s the new ones that give their owners nothing but troubles… ;( I hope you’ll get this situation solved soon – fingers crossed!

  3. I hear you on the car thing. However, the last car I got was brand new. I leased it because at the time we were cash poor and leasing is significantly cheaper month-to-month than buying (though not over the life of the car, of course). The best part was that I used a buyer’s agent. I can give you the link if you are interested.

    For a $400 fee, I told the agent the car I wanted (Toyota Matrix) and then she spent a week calling around to every dealership within our area to negotiate the best deal. She saved us $1,500 but, more important to me, ALL of the work of searching and haggling and figuring out who’s being fair and who’s not. (Dealers don’t like her much.) At one point she was planning on having a car delivered to us from Boston because our regional dealers are typically so overpriced. In the end, we drove to a dealership, signed a few papers and left. No hassles, no “I’ll have to go over this with my manager” crap.

    I believe I’m going to be leasing again (two kids in college; money in the bank? Ha.). It was my first new car experience and I will say this: Total reliability and no unforeseen repairs in 4 straight years. Oil changes, tuneups, snow tires. That’s it. Plus a nice-looking car to boot.

    I think once you come to the dark side (i.e., car payments as a standard part of your budget) it’s a lot easier to make a new car sound reasonable. I admire anyone who is willing to do the legwork and buy a good used car at a good price, and if we had the cash I’d probably still be doing that. But I don’t think I’ll ever go back! 🙂

    Good luck with it!

  4. I am so sorry about the van! I hate automobiles and the buying/feeling scr@w’d feeling that goes along with it.

    Thanks for the heads up on the sock holders!

  5. I’m sorry about the car. I agree on the car shopping sucking. We got a new/used rental from Enterprise last time. No new car depreciation. Good car, not exciting. I’m looking forward to the newly revised tank and your spinning skills are great. And you’re just a newbie. Cool.

Leave a Reply

