“Drop” Spindle My Ass!

Okay, so any of you who have read my blog may have ascertained that I am the most clumsy doofus on the face of the planet   am not always graceful. I’m excel at spilling and dropping things.  Logic should then dictate that using a “drop” spindle should be a snap for me.  That would be the case if a drop spindle were actually meant to be dropped.

 brokenspindle.jpg

 Well, drop it I did… repeatedly. The last fall was quite gruesome. The brass hook bent and cracked the wood on both sides of the tip.  I find no fault in the craftsmanship or quality of this once lovely item.  It was sturdy, well-balanced, beautiful… everything a spindle should be.  My theory is that the name “drop spindle” embedded itself deep within my subliminal consciousness, which took the name literally, therefore dredging up every last bit of clumsiness in my being and thus causing my hands to refuse to hold onto the darned thing.

Therefore, I would like to start a grass roots movement to rename the drop spindle. The new name should be “keep them spinning while never letting them actually touch the ground” spindles.    

The good news is that prior to its demise I was able to ply some of the singles

pliedyarn.jpg

and I am really pleased at how the colors came out.

This yarn was combined with some handspun Cindy gave me last year to make this short little green sock. 

 peapodsock.jpg

Cindy’s yarn is the darker of the two colors.  I’m hoping that by combining the two yarns that I’ll be able to squeeze 4 socks out of this roving.   That’s assuming I can find a drop spindle durable enough to live up to its name.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to ““Drop” Spindle My Ass!

  1. CindyCindy

    Thank God for glue and pliers, huh? Now you know why I use a wheel. Built close to the ground and no spinning and holding stuff. I love your plied yarn. It’s lovely. Nice work. And, the sock? How can you be clumsy and do such great work? Isn’t that a paradox? You’re the English Major, help me here. I sure hope you can get 4 socks out that, too. Good luck and may you, the A’s and B have a wonderful Father’s Day.

  2. Bummer. Maybe we can call them “Float Spindles”. They float on the end of the roving while you are spinning. 🙂

  3. There are support spindles and the Spindolyn always looked intriguing to me. But if you’re worried, the old CD’s and dowel spindles work perfectly well and you don’t have to care about them. The yarn looks great!

  4. You gave the reason why I have not touched my drop spindle in months of purchasing it! lol

  5. Congratulations on your first sock knitted from your handspun! It came out beautiful.

  6. I have heard these called “Hand Spindles” (meaning they should stay in your hand). Spinning wheels have “Supported Spindles”, meaning they’re spinsters on welfare. OK, maybe not. You could try an old fashioned method of making your own spinning wheel–a stick and a potato. Maybe you’ll find the potato method more effective than I found them for removing the broken bulb. I only managed to make the bulb fragments slimy.
    Love ya,
    K

  7. Many congrats! That is a great looking sock and your yarn is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

