Daily Archives: June 20, 2007

Grumpy McNasty

That would be my nickname this morning following a long day yesterday.  I really wanted to catch up on things around the house but once again they were short-handed at work.  The girls were able to stay home with their father (he was home due to a doctor’s appointment) so they were happy. 

Anyway, because I was with the older children in the third through sixth grade class I  ventured to pull out the notorious HP sock during recess. Afterall, the sun was shining (we’ve discussed the light issue and black yarn about a million times) and I could multi-task between knitting and cheering on a kick-ball game. 

A mere 1/2 round into the sock and two outs later knitting came to a screeching halt. One of the fifth grade girls who wasn’t playing came up and sat down by me.  For one split second I laid my fourth needle on the picnic table while reminding everyone to drink their water.  During that fateful time my dear, sweet little needle was picked up and snapped by the student.  After breaking it she dropped it on the table, stood up and walked off.  What…..? I was speechless, but only for a moment.   I exercised tremendous self-control while I forced myself not to scream or throttle this child calmly asked her why she broke it, to which she replied, “I didn’t break it.  Do you want me to buy you a new one?”    I know for a fact that this family cannot afford the extra $23.00 to replace my needles, so I told her no, but to not touch anything that didn’t belong to her. 

image0042.jpg

 Poor little needle

So,  the sock once again suspended in a state of limbo until I can replace the needles.

 image0043.jpg

Last night I pulled out some mulberry silk from Crown Mountain Farms and spun several yards of what I think may finally be lace weight yarn.

image0040.jpg

Not much was completed before retiring for the night.  Today A2 has a morning orthodontist appointment and then I work… with the preschool aged kids.  They may require constant supervision and they definately secrete more bodily fluids, but they are, for the most part, sweet. 

A few more items were pulled from the garage and listed on eBay yesterday too.  I really hope to actually park there someday!  Time for more coffee.  I hope you all have a wonderful last day of spring.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized