Beuller? Beuller? Beuller?

Um, he’s sick. My best friend’s sister’s boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend heard from this guy who knows this kid who’s going with the girl who saw Ferris pass out at 31 Flavors last night. I guess it’s pretty serious.”

I’m not playing hooky on a carefree daytrip.  Really.  I’ve just been a little under the weather and have no energy left.  Once the kitchen is cleaned and the coffee pot set up for morning I’ve been stumbling straight to bed.  It’s nothing serious, just a low-grade fever, congestion, blah, blah, blah.  But talk about annoying.  My “To-Do” list isn’t getting any smaller and even picking up knitting needles or spinning is too draining.   Is this what people mean when they say that they’ve lost their knitting Mojo?

That being said, I did manage a small amount of progress on the Christmas ’07 knitting.  This alien was spun, knitted and felted during these past two weeks.  A3 likes him, but I think looks rather naked or unfinished.  Almost Smurfy. I never did like Smurfs. And I just don’t know what to do with him. He’s in the wardrobe now and I’m hoping  several weeks (or more) absence will give me a new perspective and some fresh ideas.

image0029.jpg

My eldest daugher, moniker A1, turned 11 today.  Sorry for sounding cliche’, but she really is growing up fast!  She’s almost as tall as I am and we wear virtually the same size clothes and shoes.  She is so much more mature and worldly than I was at her age.  Then again, most children today are.  She’s also much more outgoing than I ever thought of being.  If given the opportunity she will get up on stage with a microphone and perform in front of as many people as possible.  To this day I’d rather cut off a digit than speak in public.  I just hope that she maintains her confidence and sense of self throughout the next 6 years.   I know that a strong sense of family and having good friends is always important, but during the teen years it seems particularly crucial. We already struggle with trying to strike a balance between letting her do fun things with her friends and having to tell her no.  Many of her friends are allowed a great deal more freedom and given much, much more money and “things” than she has too.  She often claims that she wishes we could win the lottery. But little does she know that even if we could afford to buy her $60.00 jeans, designer shoes, etc. it wouldn’t be happening. Most of her “playmates” vacation in tropical places, have cell phones, tv’s in their bedrooms and some even own horse and enjoy private riding lessons. Obviously we don’t want her to be shallow and materialistic, but we also don’t want her to never get to do anything with her friends.  Maybe we could encourage her to have poorer friends (that’s a joke, they’re all really nice girls). As a result I will often hear, “You’re the most awful mom ever!” and “I love you mom, you’re the best!” coming out of the same girl on the same day.  And this applies to all of my daughters, not just my eldest. My response to both extreme outcries is, “Yup.”  or “That’s nice.”  I’m a firm believer in communication.  Actually, I do talk to them, just not when they’re excited or overly emotional.

Speaking of one of the times when I’m a “good” mom. Several times each week we  have  “Girl Time” where we make or do something together. If chocolate is involved then usually everyone is happy.  On Friday we made Christmas Ornaments.

image0028.jpg

Now it’s time to go be a “bad” mom again and remind them to brush their teeth and to get into bed.  I guarantee they will argue that it’s still light outside, that they brushed their teeth this morning and that other kids get to stay up.  And now I’d be willing to bet that A1 brings her advanced years into the argument to stay up as well.  Night all!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Beuller? Beuller? Beuller?

  1. Happy birthday A1! 🙂

    I am so impressed with the size of your “almost smurf”! I know what you mean about needing to let ideas “marinate” a bit, good luck with it! 🙂

  2. Ahhhh… them years. I remember them well, both as a mother and as a teenager. Just hold firm to your beliefs, know she’s in agony when she’s hating you, and she will eventually emerge from that dark side. And be kind to yourself along the way. You deserve it.

  3. NICE alien! Three eyes and felted, too. Totally cool.

  4. Feel better soon. I had that a few weeks ago. It’s awful to be sick during the summer.

  5. Rae

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY A1!!!

    get to feeling better Heidi! dig the alien!

  6. Cindy

    Hey there. Now, you know why I don’t have children. It’s the hardest great job in the world. I admire all parents. Having
    “stuff” is no more important than it was when I was a kid, but now more parents seem willing to go into serious debt to give their children the things they never had. I love the alien, he needs a diaper. Or at the very least, a belly button. Take care of yourself kiddo. It’s hard being sick in the summer. It seems wrong somehow.

  7. V

    Aw! Happy Birthday A1!

    You’re doing a great job Heide! No doubt.

  8. Wonderful alien!! I’m sorry I missed your birthday…for some reason my bloglines hasn’t been updating your feed :o(

  9. Happy Birthday dear A-1! Just don’t get “saucy”! Ha ha. ha.
    Great alien. I think it needs a dress. It looks like a girly alien with the stripey socks. Maybe some bows in its “hair”.
    Good luck with the teen years. You can give me advise as you go through it–let me know what worked and what didn’t.
    Hugs, hope you get well soon!
    Love, K

Leave a Reply

