I tend to drop lots of things… dishes, cups, clothes, pens, pencils, knitting needles.  You get the idea.  It’s like my hands don’t remember what they’re supposed to be doing.  The minute I look away or lose focus for any reason they rebel and something inevitably hits the floor.   I’m thinking that M.S. lesions might be causing neurological disruptions.  So in an effort to thwart further loss of feeling, etc. I’ve been making a concerted effort to grip items.  Um, I think from the looks of this pen 

image0034.jpg

that maybe I need to ease up a bit.  This might explain the high casualty rate of wooden double points while making socks.  My current pair of socks in progress are being knitted on a set of mismatched size 0’s. Not only are they made of different woods, but the lengths vary as well so that switching needles is awkward.  I have to slide the knitting from one end to the other on the longer needles and bunch it up on the shorter ones.

Luckily for me, Karen found a LYS near her which was having a 50% off sale.  Unfortunately it was due to the store closing.  She was able to pick up 8 pairs of dps for me so that I’m well-stocked again.  Although I do feel sorry for the shop owners.

image0033.jpg 

The needles and check passed each other in the mail. Maybe she can use it to replenish her chocolate stash (which was raided by her own little gremlin).  Everyone needs a supply of chocolate, prozac, caffeine or other comfort for those trying moments.  And with her packing, moving, finding new schools for her girls, etc. right now chocolate is necessary.   Like oxygen. Thank you for the needles Karen, now my stash is replenished too!  Hope all is well up yonder with you.

And today during my lunch break I cast on a Krista sweater. 

 image0035.jpg

It feels wonderful to be knitting something other than socks on mismatched needles or lace.  The yarn is some Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino from my stash. Hopefully the sweater will be a quick knit.  As I’ve stated in the past, sometimes a quickie feels so good! 

Hope you all have a good weekend.  And here’s hoping that certain dog owners in the greater St. Louis area wise up and take care of their pooches. Cindy and dear Grover deserve a peaceful walk.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “

  1. The check arrived–though I think I need to give you a refund. When you called, I was in the middle of something and it wasn’t until after we hung up that I realized the postage was going to be less than $2, so I owe you a venti latte. Glad to hear the needles arrived! The sweater looks beautiful from the picture. I can’t wait to see it knitted up! I have lots of pictures from the Fair yesterday, including a bunch of knitted things. I’ll post pictures on the blog tonight.
    Love, K

  2. Cindy

    Thanks Sweetie. You have an awesome grip:) I cannot tell you how in love I am with the Krista pattern. It is so intensely feminine. Oh, and of course, not my style at all, but I still love it. And, I love the color you chose. White seems a bit bleh, but I think your color will bring out the stitch pattern beautifully. When do your fledglings begin their school year? That always causes a flurry of activity. Oh, and I couldn’t wait for the Cashsoft, so I cast on last night for a Tulip baby sweater. Don’t need it, just wanted to knit it. And, Karen O. rocks doesn’t she? It’s so good to get needles for less, but not at the cost of the store. That’s sad. Have a terrific weekend. I must hurry and get things together so that we can hit the farmer’s market.

  3. I’ve been known to bend pens, too – just tell people you’re related to Uri Geller!

  4. Oh, I have that pattern! I’ve wanted to make it for so long. I can’t wait to see how yours comes out. That yarn looks perfect for it. Soo soft…keep knitting…so I can see…LOL!

  5. Carmen

    HP, you are a gifted writer. I miss you! Your fan and friend, Carmen

  6. V

    Heehee…let’s uh…not hold hands, ok? Maybe a hug. Maybe…. 😉

  7. Ha! I do the same thing, only it’s happened with (gulp) cameras and bunny treats. Well okay, the treat dropping may be on purpose…
    Btw, I might have one ball of that DB BC in that color. I can pop it over into the mail if you want it.
    =:8

Leave a Reply

