Blocking Krista & Missing Gadget

image0037.jpg

The Krista sweater pieces were finished and last night they finally were soaked and laid out for blocking.  Cotton behaves differently from wool… more so when blocking than when knitting.  Not only does it remain soaking wet even after hours of drying time, but it doesn’t seem to require the same amount of pinning that wool does.  I’ve turned and moved the pieces to dry portions of the towels, but if they aren’t significantly drier after work today then I may lay it out in my dryer rack with cool air on.  Debate is still out on whether or not it will be left plain white or if it will be dyed an actual color.  The preferences of the intended recipient will play a huge role. Hopefully I won’t mess up the seaming.  I’ve never been good at finishing.

Not much else in the knitting kingdom here.  I did find my lucet.

  image0038.jpg

A1 has taken a fancy to making necklaces and bracelets with it.  Apparently she fell asleep with it last night.  She’s actually quite fast and I’m thinking she may be employed to make cords for some upcoming projects I have in mind.

Off to the orthodontist and work… at the old job still.  No news on employment elsewhere.  Then again, I’ve not looked too terribly hard.  Cheers!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Blocking Krista & Missing Gadget

  1. Heidi

    That is all parts to a sweater… sure – the 2 smaller pieces look like a knitted pair of undies… LOL 🙂

  2. Cindy

    I cannot wait to see Krista completed. If the recipient wants white, what can you? But, I do think it would be gorgeous in peach or sage. And, I firmly believe in letting the “expert” do the work. I would definitely put A1 to work. Especially since she seems to like the lucet. As for the job hunt. Sucks. My job is moving about 30 miles out. I’m gonna try it and see, but don’t know if I’ll be able to stand that commute. We’ll see.

  3. I had to giggle because the little white sweater pieces look like panties! I thought, “Is she knitting a tank with panties?!” You never know! tee hee hee

  4. I’ve never tried to block cotton so I don’t have any sage advice for you – but I can say that I can’t wait to see her all done!

    ooooh you have an i-cord elf…I’m so jealous! They’re very rare, you know ;o)

  5. Oh, I can’t wait to see Krista complete! I usually put a fan directly on everything I block; speeds up the drying time.

  6. Gillian

    Krista looks really good. I think you have done really well with the cotton. I have given up on the last two cotton garments I have attempted.
    I think the same person/s who trashed your place are the ones who keep coming round to my place and filling up the ironing basket with crumpled clothes that I wanted to wear that day.
    Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

