At the Zoo

Saturday afternoon my friend Alicia and her long-time, not yet husband, boyfriend, Bruce drove down to visit.  My Dh was at National Guard Drill and A1 was away with her buddy at the beach.  That left me, A2 and A3 to play with our guests.  We packed up and headed down to the Zoo.

We rode the Zoo Liner Express. A3 was particularly excited. She waved and blew kisses to all of the people we passed.

zootrain.jpg

Alicia had fun and Bruce was a real trooper considering that his 6’6″ body was crammed into a seat designed for children.

image0043.jpg

We saw tigers pacing and looking thoroughly bored.

image0044.jpg

We risked life and limb by entering Larakeet Landing without purchasing cups of nectar.  The birdie concession stand was sold out and one of these little critters climbed on my arm and proceeded to bite the crap out of my arm and hand once he discovered there was no food.

image0045.jpg

A gaggle of juvenile homo-sapiens romped and rolled in a controlled environment.  And although zoo policies state to not feed the animals it was obvious that many visitors had violated this policy by filling these critters with copious amounts of sugar.  Of course mine joined in.

image0046.jpg

Some knitting came too, but it napped, mostly undisturbed in the bottom of my backpack.

image0048.jpg

We all had a good time, but we left feeling sorry for the animals.  Obviously all of their nutritional needs are met and the zoo keepers love animals. And I know that some would not be alive if not for the zoo. But the primates and larger animals all seemed depressed. Of course, this might just be my egocentric self projecting my human emotions and opinions on unwitting creatures.  So, for a pick me up we drove to China Town and ate Chinese Food (duh) with lots of meat in it. Oh, the hypocracy.  It was yummy!

Today Alicia and Bruce might (still open for debate) attend the Hemp Fest down in Portland.  I had my fill of the exotic yesterday.  Hope you’re all having a great weekend.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “At the Zoo

  1. Rae

    Hey! I’ve been threatening to take Huba to the zoo as last time he went he was 2. It looks like you guys had fun!

  2. Sounds like a great time! I wish I were there. 🙂
    K

  3. Looks like you had a great time!!!

  4. Gillian

    I always feel torn between the wonder of seeing and appreciating the animals/and worrying about how they feel being there.
    The ones who have been bred in captivity are often keeping the gene pool going so I hope that they all “like” us in the end. Most of us humans are doing our best!!!
    Cheers Gillian

  5. Fi

    I feel the same way. Our zoos all try to imitate the natural habitat and yes, they are being cared for…sometimes it just doesn’t feel right. I guess it does raise the profile of animals and probably encourages people to care more for their environment (I hope).

  6. Fi

    But was your biggest decision ‘which knitting project will I take’. Mine usually is.

  7. The hemp fest? wow I liked down there for 3 years and had never heard about it but I mostly ignored my pot smoking classmates because most of the time they did not make any sense.

    Looks like you had a blast. I feel sorry for the knitting that it had to nap all day. I sure that it would have gotten a thrill out of being held over the lion pit destine for utter death by yarn mauling.

  8. Sounds like a great day was had by all – except the lorikeets. :o)

  9. I usually feel depressed in a zoo, too! Doesn’t seem natural to keep the animals in cages, and often in a different environment than they are used to.

  10. (K)napping knitting! Cute.

Leave a Reply

