Things which Taunt

happyhalloween.jpg

Would you like to see my new boo wheel?  Here it is…

image00171.jpg

There really isn’t a white spot on the wheel, it just photographed that way. I love the shiny blueness, but now I want to take the stand apart to sand and paint too. The discolored, naked wood is taunting me. But as the wheel is spinning perfectly now  I don’t want to tempt fate by taking it apart.

Quite a bit more of Loretta’s roving was spun last night. The large remaining pile of roving taunts me as Dr. appointments, etc. threaten to eat up the day.

During yesterday’s errands I had to drive past “The Sign” which taunts me. 

sign.jpgimage00091.jpg

We’ve lived here for a year now.  I know this store sells gardening supplies.  Yet every time I drive past the sign I look twice because at a quick glance from a moving vehicle it looks like two crossed knitting needles and the word “Yarn”.  Is this wishful thinking or poor eyesight?  Probably a little of both. My girls and husband find it amusing.

 This messy bin of knitting patterns taunted me for the last time. Yesterday all of the loose patterns were put into sleeves and arranged in a binder according to pattern type.

dscn3464.jpg

The messy bin no longer nags or taunts, but the patterns in the binder scream and beg to be knitted.

In order to reach the afore-mentioned bin a basket of my favorite yarn had to be moved. This yarn caught my eye and now it taunts and tempts mercilessly. It demands to be something beautiful.  It’s tired of merely being fondled and admired in its infantile state. 

image00151.jpg

Finally, after succombing to peer pressure from Jessie and Cindy I caved and bought fresh pumpkins. 

image00111.jpgimage00122.jpg

The house still smells all pumpkiny and delicious.  The odor taunts and teases, “Bake me, cook with me!”

I just had a moment of enlightenment!  The only thing which really taunts me is TIME.  I haven’t the time to start new projects, finish the old ones.  Or, in the case of the sign, have my eyes checked.   

SONNET 19
Devouring Time, blunt thou the lion’s paws,
And make the earth devour her own sweet brood;
Pluck the keen teeth from the fierce tiger’s jaws,
And burn the long-lived phoenix in her blood;
Make glad and sorry seasons as thou fleets,
And do whate’er thou wilt, swift-footed Time,
To the wide world and all her fading sweets;
But I forbid thee one most heinous crime:
O, carve not with thy hours my love’s fair brow,
Nor draw no lines there with thine antique pen;
Him in thy course untainted do allow
For beauty’s pattern to succeeding men.
Yet, do thy worst, old Time: despite thy wrong,
My love shall in my verse ever live young. William Shakespeare

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Things which Taunt

  1. I bought bins over the weekend (great minds think alike?) in hopes that by putting my stash in plastic and snapping a cover on it, it wouldn’t migrate across the guest room. So far I’ve dumped one bins worth in a bin. 5 more to go. Did you make pumpkin pie? YUM!

  2. Happy Halloween! :o) mmmm…pumpkin pie…

  3. You know, I SAW the knitting needles and yarn on that sign, too. It’s a surprise to see that it’s NOT…
    And that taunting yarn? Rumor has it that it’s going to be a calendar yarn in 2008. (The Deb Stoller yarn a day, or something like that.) DON’T knit it, it’ll be worth loads of money some day. (Heh, yeah, sure.)

  4. Old Bill put it so much better than “I’m late, I’m late for a very important date. No time to say hello goodbye. I’m late. I’m late. I’m late.” Love the yarn. Pumpkins????? Did you puree them with butter? It’s so darned good. Whatchagonnadowithit? I wanna blue wheel, too.

  5. I thought that sign said yarn garden when I first looked at it and I thought “there’s another one?!” Those pumpkins looked good! I cooked one last night and mixed it with some creamy polenta and parmesan and it was fabulous!

Leave a Reply

