Weekly chores

” Cleaning your house while your kids are still growing is like shoveling the walk before it stops snowing.”

Phyllis Diller

Whoo hoo hoo!  Monday I cleaned the house.  For two glorious hours it remained clutter free.  Autumn sunbeams shone through windows and lit upon dust-free surfaces.  My Little Pony toys  rescued from the bathtub were corraled in their tote. Cast off clothing no longer littered the halls and bedrooms. But Fate, it would seem, had other plans and the universe remedied this unnatural state of cleanliness by way of a big yellow school bus delivering the girls.  Well crap. Not much else to say on that subject.

Yesterday I dissassembled the trampoline while under strict supervision. Everybody’s a critic.

image0019.jpgimage00201.jpg

The metal frame for the trampoline and net enclosure frame were neatly stacked next to a broken futon frame where they waited patiently to be picked up for scrap metal. 

I waited too, albeit not so patiently, for the person who never showed or called.  Urgh.  But the time wasn’t completely wasted. I frogged back a scarf/shawl which wasn’t working out as planned.  Grander designs are necessary for this lovely yarn.

 image00181.jpg

And a hat was knitted for the Christmas box, courtesy of Stephanie’s  “unoriginal” pattern (her name, not mine).  The yarn is some alpaca mix that I spun last month. 

image0021.jpg

Now that I’ve been dissed by the metal man I think I’ll go grocery shopping and buy lots of chocolate.  Chocolate… it’s not just for breakfast.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Weekly chores

  1. What a great hat. Handspun really makes it.

  2. tk

    . . . did you mention chocolate? ;o)

  3. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog. I am becoming increasingly persuaded towards the unoriginal hat – seems like the perfect christmas/gift knit! Yours is gorgeous – a great colour

  4. Chocolate – breakfast of champions!

  5. The hat looks great; I think I’m gonna have to make one too.

  6. Gillian

    Lovely hat! Shame about the scarf. Was it too holey?
    You’re right, though, it is lovely yarn and needs a project to show it off.
    I promise that If you come round and clean up my place, no big yellow school bus will ever turn up here.
    Cheers Gillian

  7. Dave Daniels

    Ditto what others have said about the hat, the yarn it was made from and the scarf. And The Harlot commented on your blog? THE Harlot? Whoa!

  8. Shhhhh don’t tell Steph, but I like your hat best. :o)

Leave a Reply

