Possible, but not probable

When making my Christmas Knitting list several factors were not taken into consideration.  First and foremost… I have three kids, two cats, two birds and one husband.  Therefore interruptions are a given.  Second, some of the items I planned to knit required spinning the yarn first.  My girls all asked for hand spun (hooray) and/or hand dyed yarn items.  This yarn is for A3’s hat and mitten set because she loves everything pink.  The yarn reminds me of Fruit Stripe Gum.

image0045.jpg

The mittens and almost completed hat still have a candy-type look to them, but of course the zebra stripes dissappeared.

image0046.jpg

I’ve resumed spinning the yarn to complete A1’s ensemble and I’ll cast on her mittens this evening. Several inches were also added to the Argosy Scarf.

Yesterday Cindy lost her sweet kitty, Miss Boo Boo Kitty, to age.  Poor Cindy and Mum!  Even their other kitty, Esau and their over-sized pup, Grover were effected by the loss.  My heart goes out to you all.

We received a package from our relatives in Finland. Kiitos Helena, Hyvaa Joulua! Helena is my cousin (can’t remember exactly how because my memory is terrible) and she came to visit us in the 1980’s. Her children are growing up so fast.  I hope they are able to come here or that we can go there someday soon. The gifts they sent are under the tree with the exception of this which is hanging on the tree.

image0044.jpg

Some of you might recognize this lovely ornament from the Drops Garn Studios Advent Calendar!  What a small world this is when knitters and crocheters from all over can share and enjoy patterns.  Helena and many of the family in Finland are avid knitters and crocheters. I couldn’t hold a candle to their skills.

And finally, today would have been my Grandma Helen’s 84th birthday.  I need to call Grandpa and ensure that he’s okay, this is always especially hard for him.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Possible, but not probable

  1. liz

    Oh wow! I love that yarn you spun up. And it sure does look like the fruit stripe gum. It looks so sweet knitted up too. What fiber did you use?

  2. CindyCindy

    I agree with Liz. It’s beautiful. The mittens and hat look fabulous. I am thrilled about the heart. I saw the pattern and was a bit disappointed because it’s crocheted and I haven’t done that for so long. Yours is so pretty on your tree. Thanks for the sympathy. We’re much much better today. Hope Grandpa is ok. With the bad weather, flooding and now Grandma’s birthday…..poor dear has had too much on his plate. Hugs to your Grandpa and you and the kiddles, and DH. Give the critters my love, too.

  3. I love the barber poling of your yarn!

    I’m working on little sockies for the tree – aren’t hand crafted ornaments the best?

  4. I can almost smell the Fruit Stripe from here! I have so much to do, I don’t know where to start. Maybe I’ll go find stamps tomorrow…then work on the quilt for my MIL. I need to do a big motif in the background bits of the Irish Chain, then I might do a couple more rows of quilting, but that’s it. I’m not going to quilt it too tight. Warm & Natural is nice cuz you can quilt up to 10″ apart! Love that stuff!

Leave a Reply

