I know they always say not to burn your bridges behind you, but…

in this particular instance I threw on some kerosene, lighter fluid and a stick of dynomite just make sure it was really and truly uncrossable.   I’ve been floating around throughout the school district working as a substitute teacher for a little over a month now. For the most part the children are all wonderful and it’s been both challenging  and rewarding as well… often at the same time. Yesterday’s assignment included filling in for a music teacher who taught many different grade levels.  For the last period of the day a teacher stopped by with her 6th grade class.   Without hesitation or exception I can honestly say that these were the worst group of ill-mannered, rude and down right nasty children I’ve had the misfortune to work with.  My skin is pretty tough, so barbs directed at me do little.  But these kids were mean to one another.  Very mean.  Without going into details I’ll just say that at the end of the day I wrote a long and detailed letter for both the music teacher as well as their regular teacher.  I’ve no idea if any follow up took place today, but I’m quite certain that neither of those teachers will ask me back again.  Afternoons (following regular school) and evenings I’ve been working at the day care center.  It’s hard to believe that the sweet little tykes there could someday evolve into  pre-hormonal beasts. I’m not going to stop working, but this particular group is on my newly created “No Friggin’ Way” list.

This past weekend went quickly and we had an extra girl  with us throughout the duration.  A1 and the extra knitted scarves at one point.  They used up some novelty yarn.  Hooray!

image00015.jpg

A3 finally got her ears pierced too!  She’s been waiting for a really long time to have this done. We made her wait to make sure that she’d take care of them and be responsible. Of course she chose pink!

image00024.jpg

Several rows of sock knitting are all I have to boast of these past few days.  Knitting time has been choppy and sporadic at best.  Part of the Arwen will need to be frogged back (to where the hood increases start) because I’ve no idea where I left off.  

Elsewhere, the acrylic yarn is still mid-auction, but it has bids!  Whoo hoo!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I know they always say not to burn your bridges behind you, but…

  1. My brother teaches English and he is completely burned out by May. Parents take little responsibility teaching their children these days. Bad or cruel behavior is fairly common, but so sad. Hang in there. You aren’t alone (I know that doesn’t make it any better). A1 is getting too grown up. And, A3’s ears are beautiful with their gorgeous pink earrings. I’m crossing my fingers on the acrylic yarn at ebay. And, the knitting? Me, too.

  2. My one sock has laid untouched since Twelfth Night (or at least the 2nd week in January). Good for you for drawing the line on that classroom! Sometimes I think that some kids are much worse at school than they are at home and parents have no clue. When I was ten (oh, yes, story time, boys and girls!), we lived three blocks from the neighborhood grocery store so mom sometimes sent me there to get a couple things. One day, I was walking home from the store with a gallon of milk and a few other necessities and two boys who were about my age stopped and harrassed me, which turned into an ass-kicking (mine being the ass in question). A passing motorist stopped and pulled the boys off me, I picked up the groceries and walked the last block home. I told Dad who did it. He went out, found one of the boys, brought him back to our house, and got his home phone number. My Dad called HIS Dad, and this kid cried like a little girl, apologized, and was taken home by his father. He never bothered me again after that. I think sometimes parents are oblivious to their kids’ wild behavior and just need to be called and kept up to speed. The school really needs to take some responsibility for that.
    Good luck! And happy Wednesday!
    Love, Karen

  3. Now see, I think Dobby is better behaved AWAY from home. ;o)

    v pretty earrings – congrats to A3!

  4. Oh… I think you’ll find teachers know the “problem” groups already and you probably haven’t said anything they haven’t thought themselves or already heard. If for some strange reason, they haven’t, they will appreciate it. That said…subbing is a strange animal. You *are* a teacher but not quite accepted as a teacher. Some kids will love you for the extra attention, chance of fun learning games, the change of pace, or whatever. Some groups (there have been two for me) will remind you of the beauty of subbing – you can decline the job in the future. One of my “never to return” places is an entire school. It was complete chaos from the second I stepped inside and the classroom reflected that atmosphere. The other group is a 5/6 combo class in my favorite sub school. It’s a complete anomoly from the usual inquisitive, friendly, warm group I encounter there. I spoke with the teacher afterwards and we just decided to chalk it up to negative vibes in the universe that day. Since then, when I’ve returned for other classrooms, the little delinquents darlings have hugged me, asked if I would come to their classroom again and apologized. Good luck in your classrooms! I think subbing has been the best experience for me and wish every teacher had to do a year before getting their own classroom.

  5. Sorry about those evil kids! Meanness is something we really work on, talk about and nip in the bud in our Girl Scout troop but other places, not so much.

    Thanks for the lovely prizes! Photos on my blog later (I hope). I’ve been knitting but not blogging in my terrible busyness. Is the wool Corriedale? Just trying to guess!

    Hope Christy’s doing well. My Lenten prayer group is praying for her on Tuesday mornings.

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

