Farmer’s Tan

Today I worked in my garden!  I pulled weeds, straightened up the furrows, planted string beans, carrots, beets, lettuce, spinach, broccoli, onions, 3 kinds of tomatoes, 2 kinds of squash and 4 varieties of peppers. The tomatoes, peppers and 1 kind of squash were plants purchased at a local nursery though.  I’ve never had much luck with growing tomatoes or peppers from seeds.  The perimeter still needs lots of work, but at least the main area is ready for summer.

Once the vegetable garden was finished I moved to the front yard to begin weeding. There are lots of wonderful established flowers and shrubs among the weeds. My newest favorite to bloom are the irises.

My only complaint about the previous owner’s gardening is that some of the plants were not well-thought out in their placement. There are some large trees planted very close to the house and other trees and bushes were placed too close together to grow properly as they aged. Eventually some trees will have to be removed and I’ll try to transplant the lilac bush. I feel terrible having to kill otherwise healthy trees and the lilac bush may not survive the move, but there really aren’t too many other options. One of the trees (not shown) is growing up under the eaves.

Kathleen’s Pixie Hat turned out adorable!  She’s writing up several larger sizes of the pattern and once it’s ready for release I’ll post a picture.  I’ve also had two more starts on the Branching out for A1’s second teacher.  The first was a lovely shade of teal in Elsbeth Lavold’s Silky Wool.  The scarf was coming along beautifully when A1 saw it and told me that her teacher didn’t like any shade of green.  Her wardrobe colors consist of black, white and gray and she preferred one of those colors. Grumble, grumble. The latest version is in gray.

Oops, while busily working in the garden I forgot to wear sunscreen.  The wardrobe combination of a tank top under overalls left lots of burn tan lines.  Ouch!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Farmer’s Tan

  1. Your garden looks lovely! I think my garden may be a bit jealous…

    As for your back…yeowch!

  2. Good for you! I planted three tomato plants and bunches of flowers. Can’t eat the flowers, but they sure look purdy. As for the burn? Owee. Take care, kiddo. It’s good to hear from you. Oh, and the lilac? Try to find a new shoot at the base of the bush. That will transplant easily and you may lose the mature plant, but not the whole bush.

  3. Oh, boy–there’s an awesome sunburn! Hope it heals up quickly and you have a number of wonderful volunteers to slather you with aloe and moisturizer. I don’t have a good set-up for a garden at this house, which is probably all well and good–I don’t have the gardening thumb. We’re on a lot of clay here anyway, so it would take a heck of a lot of work to get proper drainage and soil content. Maybe when the kids are too big for the swing set, I’ll put in a garden bed in its place.
    Take care,
    Karen O

  4. Christy

    YEEEEEOUCH! ~ unless you were trying to resemble a lobster…lol…Noxema works great for cooling a burn. Aloe also works great – good luck finding gentle handed spreaders!
    Your garden looks great as always!

  5. Sunburn in a bunny ear pattern – very noveau!

Leave a Reply

