That which is new

Following four fun-filled performances and one closing celebration we’ve officially ended the sixth grade musical!

There are only 7 1/2 school days left I’m wondering what we’ll do with all of our new free time. Sleeping in, remodeling the house, traveling, having time to bake, knit, etc.  Hey, I can dream!

Speaking of knitting and new, here is the newly blocked Branching Out  scarf for A2’s teacher.

And because there is a new FO there had to be something new cast on as well. Here is the start of socks in the Fan and Feather pattern from the book, Socks, Socks, Socks!.

My newest spinning project involves transforming some of Erin’s BFL in the Renaissance colorway into striping sock yarn. I’m paying close attention to my drafting because I want to keep like colors plied together. Navajo plying would make the individual color sections shorter than I want. Of course there will be some barber poling as the singles would be almost impossible to line up completely, but the small amounts should be fine.

Grandma, Grandpa and Aunt Jackie (my parents and sister) came down to watch Saturday’s matinee.  They brought some new furniture for our living room with them too! My Uncle Wally and Aunt Marlene bought new furniture and they gave us their old set. It’s very nice!  I’ll need to work new butt grooves into my knitting spot.  The furniture from our living room now resides in the girls’ play/television area.

We need to find a new home for the futon. The frame isn’t beautiful, but it’s functional and the mattress was purchased a little over a year ago. If you are in the area and want a free futon then please contact me. If we don’t find any known takers then I’ll list it for free on Craig’s List. I’m just a little leary of having complete strangers come into my home for any reason.

Finally, I got a new haircut. It’s quite a bit shorter than before and than what was originally requested. The hairstylist kept commenting on how she needed to “thin” my hair (which makes no sense to me as my hair is thin anyway) and take “just a little more off” here and there to make it lay flat.  My hair is straight, but it does not lay flat. It never has… it never will. Her constant revisions didn’t bother me, but the nicks on my neck (visible red lines) were quite annoying. 

Hope you all enjoyed a great weekend!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “That which is new

  1. I love your new haircut, but now you can’t wear it in a pony tail, can you? The Branching Out scarf is beautiful. I love the new socks and your spinning is super good! I cannot believe there are 7.5 more days of scho0l for your girls. Our schools are out this Wednesday, even with all the extra snow days. Take care, kiddo!

  2. What a NEWsy post! We have 7 full days and two “half” days. The last day is really only two hours, and I think it’s a school-wide party or a clean-out-your-cubby day. The scarf is beautiful! And I love the pattern on the socks–looks complicated. The Patchwork Pirates will be sailing through your waters on Saturday, June 21st. If we’re there during a reasonable hour, can we meet for drinks/dinner?
    Hugs, Karen

  3. Cool new haircut!!! My hairstyle is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. sigh

Leave a Reply

