Prizes, Pythons, Gifts and Gators…

but not necessarily in that order.

Yesterday a package (or as Karen calls them, “A Squishy”) arrived in the mail. It was a package from Catherine over at Yogurt and Granola. Catherine held a contest several weeks ago requesting feedback about which type of arborvitae would work best in her back yard and my name was chosen! I tore into it at the bus stop and showed off the contents to the other moms while we waited for the school bus. One of them is just beginning to knit and she commented on having enough yarn to fill an entire gallon ziplock already. Obviously she has no idea that yarn multiplies exponentially. But I digress, back to the amazing package.

Inside there was a skein of Earth Ombre colored Sugar and Cream cotton, two skeins of Maizy sock yarn, a wonderfully smelling stuffed sheepy (lavender & chamomile I think) , a bar of the most amazing chocolate (gone), a card and best of all, a stone.  This isn’t just any stone though, this is a garden stone picked out by Jackson!  Thank you Jackson, I love my rock! It’s on the nightstand next to my bed.  And  thank you too Catherine, the yarns and everything are so beautiful. I can’t wait to try out the yarn made out of corn.

The girls tore me away from my new yarns so we could go see The Reptile Man.  There were many neat and interesting animals to learn about. The audience was able to hold and/or pet some of them following the presentation.  He had this young alligator with him. She had the most beautiful eyes.

The kids all enjoyed holding the yellow python. It was huge!

Only one of the above shown children is mine, the crowds around this amazingly calm fellow made it impossible for solo pictures.

Scale closeup

Now off to set up the coffee pot and turn in for the night. Cheers!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Prizes, Pythons, Gifts and Gators…

  1. Fi

    As much as I love emails and the internet for communication, nothing beats a package in the mail as far as I’m concerned. Nice squishy.

    Sorry I have nothing pleasant to say about the snakes. AFter finding one in my kitchen, they are not my favourites. And yes, I have had a kangaroo jump down my street.

  2. I’m thinking that the python pattern would make some lovely lace.

  3. Glad you liked the package! (Isn’t that chocolate divine? I may have to get some more…) 🙂

  4. Looks like the python has a dinosaur tatooed on its scales in that second picture.

    Why, yes, I do see shapes in clouds.

  5. What a cool package. I love the stone. There’s something mildly disturbing about seeing your girls holding a snake that could eat them. Is it me? Have a terrific day, girl!

  6. Rae

    Must say I agree. The snake is most disturbing. But the sheep on the other hand is too cute!

  7. Don’t you just love a good squishie? Nothing like it!! The dresses fit…mostly. I’m going to have to get friendly with some spandex and get a good girdle! Hey, if it was good for Mae West…
    Nice snake. Reminds me of some ex-boyfriends I’ve known… Yellow…Cold-blooded…Smothering…
    Speaking of yellow–I’ve made slow progress on the sock. It’s nice to have a take-along project, though.
    Love, K

  8. Ooooh, that mottled yellow/white of the snake would make a nice colorway. Maybe with a few drops of pale lavender for contrast. 🙂 Looks like everyone had a blast with the reptiles.

    Congrats on the prize. I love the little purple sheep.

  9. Nice package!

    You’re reminding me I’ve got to sign up Little Man for snake class this summer:-)

Leave a Reply

