Whole lot of nothin’

Okay, so that whole “cleaning” endeavor took longer than predicted. Two and 1/2 days were spent on the girls’ tv/play room alone. In the end we took out multiple boxes of toys, books and miscellaneous items. One wall needed and received a fresh coat of paint, the carpet was shampood twice.  Designer touches would be appreciated, but for now I’ll settle for clean.

Two more tank tops were cast on and frogged. The first had a loose 2×2 ribbing for shaping.  The gauge was very loose making it look bulky and ridiculous when on.

The second tank top was a stocking net stitch through the shoulders and breast area.  Next was an eyelet row (for a ribbon or I-chord) and the bottom was a feather and fan lace stitch.  This version also looked dumpy so it too was ripped out. 

At this point I decided that it wasn’t the patterns, it’s the model that makes the sweaters look like blobs.  For this reason the yarn has been returned to the stash wardrobe and I’m back to sock knitting.

There isn’t a large variety in the garden yet, but we’re drowning in lettuce, zucchini and strawberries.

The beets, carrots, broccoli, cabbage and tomatoes look promising.  The peas won’t amount to much though because we keep eating them raw while they’re still in the pods.

Several weeks back while out garage sale-ing I came across a DVD set from a television show I enjoyed back in the early 1980s.  The show, “Robin of Sherwood” starred Michael Praed and aired on Showtime. They were only asking $1 so of course I bought it and brought it home.  Score! I could pop it in while knitting, folding clothes or even while taking on a monster cleaning project. 

Giggle, snort, bwah, hah, hah!  The mullets, techno pop sound track, horrible costumes and cheesy dialogue were so distracting that I couldn’t focus on anything.  I watched a total of two episodes before finally admitting that it was awful.  Just awful.  It’s now listed on ebay.

But in my defense, I was a youngster and I watched way worse television shows.  Looking back, Sid and Marty Krofft had the market cornered when it came to cheesy kids’ shows.  There was HR Pufnstuf, Land of the Lost (remember the sleestaks?) and Sigmund and the Sea Monsters to name a few.  I also remember a really bad super hero show called Shazam. It featured two men, one young and one older, riding around in a Winnebago, talking to Greek Gods and saving the universe from evil. So what campy shows do you remember watching?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Whole lot of nothin’

  1. Oh, I loved Land of the Lost. Totally cheesy now but just the best when I was younger. Remember that weird hissing sound that the sleestaks made? It just cracks me up now.

  2. I also loved Land of the Lost, but I also enjoyed Bossom Buddies (Tom Hanks in drag. What’s not to love?) and Greatest American Hero.
    The house looks great, and I’m envious of your garden treasures. I’m going to have to build a couple garden boxes along the back fence so I can plant a few things–corn, peas, beans, and maybe some zucchini and pumpkins. The kids want the pumpkins. I keep trying to tell them that we don’t have a yard big enough for pumpkins. Maybe I can plant them on the side of the house with the rocks–the area that no one walks through anyway.
    Hugs to the girls!
    K

  3. Drooling over your strawberries…

    Remember F-Troop? Loved it as a kid. Boy, is it dreadful as an adult. Should dump Speed Racer in the same bin.

  4. The Greatest American Hero. Remember that one? The one with the unassuming guy who finds superhero powers in the desert just by donning a silly red suit (to go with his silly red hair) that was delivered by aliens? We came across the DVD of season 1 for this show last year and couldn’t believe how horrible it was. Yet I used to like it as a kid! “Believe it or not, I’m walking on air, I never thought I could feel so free-hee-hee! Flying away on a wing and prayer, who could it be? Believe it or not, it’s just me!” (Sorry…)

  5. knitwonpurltoo

    I must be too old. I don’t remember those shows. When you’re done cleaning your house, can you come help with mine?????

  6. They are making HR Pufnstuff and Sigmund and the Sea Monster MOVIES!!!

  7. Christy

    …(thanking Catherine for the ‘stuck tune’ syndrome,drooling over the berries, and wishing I still lived across the street so I could snag some zuchini (yummy) too)

    I remember HR & Land of the Lost. Especially the creepy sleestacks. How about Mork & Mindy? Perhaps Capt. Kangaroo? Or maybe even My Three Sons?
    But hey…my fave that’s still on out here from time to time…
    The one and only Banana Splits! 🙂

  8. Ooohhh yeah, I watched all those shows too. And what about Donnie and Marie? I just loved them – although now they make me gag. 🙂 What can I say . . . I was young and stupid. LOL

  9. A MOVIE of HR. Thanks for the American Hero and Banana Splits theme tunes. There is a Van Morrison song that I swear has a little Banana Splits motif- I can’t remember which one it was and no one around me knew the show when I was noticing it.

    Having a similar moment of reminiscing on t.v. shows, I googled sid and marty Kroft and did a blog post on all the shows they did. It’s here

  10. The sleestaks used to scare the s**t out of me. That noise when they were coming was too freaky.

Leave a Reply

