Filling in the blanks

Three days of silence was about all I could stand.  Tuesday morning I drove out to retrieve my wayward daughters from my parents.  My sister had the day off and she graciously agreed to ride along with me.

During their stay they enjoyed private art lessons.

They meandered through isolated paths of green.

They spent countless hours building cities in the sand pit. Grandpa even helped construct several tents to keep the rain at bay.

Due to the unpredictable weather only one beach visit was made though.  And that visit was made the day  my sister arrived to take the girls back home. Beach time might have lasted longer except that a nearby elk in an advanced stated of decomposing gagged us every time the wind shifted.

The bogs* are covered with little green cranberries right now.  Hopefully some late summer heat will fatten and ripen these up nicely. *Edited to add: My parents are cranberry farmers with approximately 20 acres of cultivated bogs, these are not wild.

The girls all three had a wonderful time and Grandma and Grandpa seemed to have enjoyed themselves as well.  Just the same the girls were happy to be home and I’m sure that my parents slept long and hard after our departure.  Thank you for having them!

The drive there and back left me fit for nothing except bed last night. 

Today was spent preparing, cooking and freezing three weeks’ worth of meals. School starts soon so I want to be prepared.

The garden has turned into a jungle with the squash plants now reaching up to my chin in height.  A plunge into the foliage revealed about 20 yellow crooknecks which had gone completely wild from neglect.  Some had even began to rot.  Others just continued to grow to abnormal sizes.

Tomorrow I plan on taking a full inventory of the vegetables so they can be harvested in a timely manner.

Over the past four days or so I finished two second socks.

I added a few more inches to the Clementine Shawlette too.

I’m exhausted after today’s power-cooking foray so catching up on blog reading will have to wait until morning.  Cheers!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Filling in the blanks

  1. Wow! Grandparents are great, aren’t they? God bless ’em! I’m back and have been blogging like mad. Of course, I’m not sleeping, which I should be. Talk to you soon!
    Love, K

  2. Glad you got your girls back! And congrats on finishing two pairs of socks. Those second socks can be a bear…

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    Gorgeous socks. Humongous squash. And, thanks for the pic of the cranberries. I’ve never seen them “in the wild”;-) Get some rest.

  4. What sort of fertilizer are you using!?

  5. Fabulous pictures of wonderful things. The painting one made me feel nostalgic for my Australian verandah. Ah well!
    Will you be picking wild cranberries?
    Cheers Gillian

  6. Terri

    You’ve been busy. 🙂 Glad the girls had a great visit with their grandparents. Glad too that you didn’t get a photograph of the elk. 🙂

Leave a Reply

