Back Again

School started again today so we all awoke and went our separate ways. A1 began junior high, A2 and A3 returned to their elementary school, the DH went to work and I went to a different elementary school to work in a Kindergarten classroom. 

During the past week we kept busy trying to wrap up loose ends from the summer. Everyone had hair cuts, A1 began volleyball tryouts (we find out next week if she makes the team) yard work was attempted (it still looks awful) and harvest began.

a daily gathering

Daily piles of vegetables meant lots of cleaning, cooking, baking and finally, giving away.   Probably my one true talent in life is growing zucchini… lots and lots of zucchini.

Tomorrow I’ll post some of my favorite recipes and disguises for this ubiquitous squash.  One important note to make for next year is NOT to grow beets.  Nobody here likes beets and they prefer spinach to beet greens. Many were sent with my DH to his co-workers. I’m contemplating a yarn dyeing experiment with some of the remaining unappealing tubers.

In the evenings I knitted Christmas presents. This year I started with the men’s socks because they are huge and time consuming.  Here are several versions of heavy, wool hiking socks.  The first will fit a men’s size 13 EEE shoe.  Somewhere there’s a naked sheep.

This pair isn’t nearly as big, being merely a men’s size 10.

Finally, I’ve started a pair of light weight women’s socks for sanity reasons.  Women’s socks just feel comfortable and “right” whereas other knitting projects require more attention, regardless of the pattern’s obvious simplicity (see above socks). I’ve no idea why. It makes no sense to me either.

I’d like to say that life here will calm down now, but I know better.  I’d also like to claim to be one of those rare individuals who thrive upon chaos, but that would be a gross falsehood. I need, but lack order. My hopes are that we achieve a semi-normal routine ever the next couple of weeks and that everyone will adjust mentally and physically.  I’ve been exhausted lately. Time to go squeeze in some blog reading before starting dinner and picking up A1 from practice.  Cheers!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Back Again

  1. A1 is completely stylin’ for junior high.

    Maybe you grew beets so you could dye fiber?

  2. lilypily

    Wow that’s a great harvest you had there. Do you roast your beets? We like them that way…also boiled, then grated into salads or sliced and added to a hamburger (that’s a real Australian thing to do – particularly if you include a slice of grilled pineapple!) Shame I don’t live closer – I could take some of those zucchini of your hands. We use a lot of them. I slip them into all sorts of unsuspecting dishes. 🙂

  3. I love the rainbow of veggies on the counter! It looks both pretty AND healthy! I’m trying to decide where in my tiny back yard I might put a garden. I’m not sure it’s even possible. I agree–beets for dyeing. Sounds like a plan.
    Good luck on the new school year! Please keep the seat belt low and tight on your lap, and keep your arms and legs inside the ride at all times.
    Love, K

  4. knitwonpurltoo

    Take a few beets and roast them with onions and garlic. Throw them in a bag in the freezer and when you make soup, toss em in. They sweeten the soup and add an amazing amount of nutrients. Cut them up small and nobody will be the wiser (I hope;-). The socks are gorgeous. Lucky recipients this Christmas. And, the girls? Each one gets more beautiful as they get older. Poor Mommy and Daddy. Please! Try to get rest. You need to take care of yourself, too, ya know.

  5. Your harvest looks lovely! Bright and colorful.

    I so need to start preparing for school… :o(

  6. Nice to see you back. I envy your organization skills. My little girl starts kindergarten on Tues (woohoo) and my little boy has preschool on the other side of town. How the heck did I manage that?

Leave a Reply

