My Favorite Things to do with Zucchini, part 1

Okay people, this is a family blog so minds out of the gutters.  On any given year I grow about a billion pounds of zucchini.  These massive amounts of squash mean that I’m forever seeking new and creative methods for its use, because heaven forbid a single ounce be wasted.  Breads, cakes, fried, parmigiana, soup, stir fry, relish, casserole, fritters, baked, grilled, steamed… we’ve tried them all. It makes a great filler for meatloaf or meatballs. Small amounts of finely shredded zucchini have been known to find their way into tuna sandwiches and pasta sauces too.  My middle daughter has accused me of trying to poison her, but she’s all talk with no adverse effects so far.  Of the many recipes and cooking methods tried this is one of my favorites.  It’s easy, tastes good and best of all, it uses a lot of zucchini!  Some recipes only ask for a token 1/2 cup… what’s the point?

Zucchini Casserole

 

Ingredients:

 

4 Cups peeled zucchini either sliced finely or shredded

½ Cup Olive Oil

4 Eggs, slightly beaten

1 Cup onion, chopped

1 Clove of garlic, finely minced

½ Cup Bisquick

½ Cup Parmesan Cheese, grated

1 tsp. Sea salt

1 tsp. Basil

½ tsp. Oregano

 

Preheat oven to 350 f.  Lightly oil an 8×8 baking pan. In a large bowl combine zucchini, oil and eggs. Add remaining ingredients, mixing well. Pour into prepared pan. Sprinkle with more parmesan cheese (optional).  Bake for approximately 30 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  If top is browning too quickly then cover with foil until center is firm.  Let cool for 5 minutes before cutting.  Serves 6.

 

Another favorite recipe, this makes a huge, moist chocolate cake.  It freezes beautifully and the consumers are none the wiser as to it’s “secret” indredient.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

 

Ingredients:

 

2 Cups all purpose flour

2 Cups Granulated Sugar

¾ Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

2 tsps baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

4 eggs, slightly beaten

1 ½ cups vegetable oil

3 Cups zucchini, peeled, finely shredded and seeds removed

 

Preheat oven to 350f, grease and flour and 9”x13” pan.

 

Mix together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Make well in center and add eggs and oil. Mix well and then fold in zucchini until its evenly distributed.  Pour batter into prepared pan.

 

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely and frost if desired.

 

Most of my labor Day was spent here.

The more astute among you will notice that it is my computer/command and control center and not my knitting spot.  Hopefully by taking some preemptive strikes this will be another uneventful school/work week free from surprises. Surprises stink.

The girls have been given a controlled amount of “freedom” regarding meals this year too in hopes that they will be more responsible and that my DH and I won’t have as much work to do.  They can now choose one hot lunch per week or make their own cold lunch as long as they follow the rules.  These were necessary to post to avoid lunches consisting of nothing except desserts, etc.

And to nip the, “I don’t know what I’m supposed to do” excuse in the bud some supplemental rules have been posted on the refrigerator.  The two main house rules of, “No messes. No fighting.” are not posted, but rather imprinted upon their memories following years of nagging.

The combination of forced zucchini consumption and rules will probably necessitate future therapy for my girls.  Either that or I’ll be put into one of those rest homes featured on 60 Minutes.

Elsewhere, my DH and I FINALLY agreed upon a wall color for our living room.  It will still be some time before the actual painting happens, but this is significant!  Prior to this his color palette included white, off-white and on those adventurous days, eggshell.

This is Dutch Boy’s Range Brown, C15-2. It is a very neutral color which will be applied to two walls. It should be versatile enough to match our eclectic garage sale theme.  Although the color is called “brown” it’s actually more of a muted olive shade. This will be quite a departure from the current salmon color left by the previous owners.

I’ve also purchased and copy of the Eyelet Cardi pattern. I love the simple, clean look of this sweater.  Of course the question as to when it will be knitted remains unknown. Cheers!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “My Favorite Things to do with Zucchini, part 1

  1. I can’t seem to zoom in on your “How to Make Lunch” guidelines, but I think I should institute that as well. Emma is regularly up a half-hour before me, and usually just goofs around while watching me race around with my hair on fire, and I usually leave the house partially dressed while she’s neat as a pin (except for her uncombed hair…). Then Cammie forgets her lunch sitting by the front door next to her backpack and coat, and I have to run back and get it. Sigh.

  2. Oh and the olive/brown paint will be a great improvement over the salmon color. Good luck with the painting! I have no interest in painting or remodeling anything in my house. Heck, my only goal now is to get Ben potty trained completely…I was just about ready to hop a train to Amish country earlier today.

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    I love the color of the walls for the living room. As for the rules, good luck and god speed. I have the Eyelet Cardi pattern and have yet to find a yarn I want to use Maybe after I’m done with the Cosmo cardi;-)

  4. I love your lunch making rules! Perfect! I sometimes think to myself, “If my kids ask me…’What do I do now??’ …concerning chores, etc….one more time, I’ll scream!”

    I’ve finally posted (on my fridge, too!) Chore Rules and what needs to be done. At the end of the day, it’s all got to be filled out before bed/snack.

    I always love new “mom-organization” tips ; )

  5. I fed RR a chocolate zucchini cupcake the other day without his knowledge – I mean, he knew he ate the cupcake, he just didn’t know what was *in* the cupcake. He still maintains that I am trying to kill him…

Leave a Reply

