A Meme and Deceit

I first read this Meme over on Karen’s site about a month ago. Since that time it’s appeared sporadically on many a knitting blog, but I never participated because I rarely get to ask my DH questions.  Well, tonight I read Jessalu’s and the planets aligned here and my husband was available. So without further ado, The Knitting Spouse’s Meme: 

Me: What is your favorite thing about my knitting?
DH: It makes you happy.

Me: What is your least favorite thing about my knitting?
DH: All of the stuff everywhere and the pieces of yarn and fuzz that are left laying around.

Me: What is something I have knitted that you recall as being good?
DH: My slippers

Me: Do you think knitters have an expensive hobby?
DH: Not if they’re just knitting with regular yarn, but when you buy the kind of yarn you get, and start dyeing yarn and spinning yarn then yes, it’s expensive.

Me: Do you have any hobbies?
DH: Playing computer games

Me: So, if we compared money/time spent on hobbies, who would win?
DH: You spend more money, I spend more time.

Me: Do you have a stash of any kind?

DH: I used to have a Star Wars collection, but I sold it and bought you a diamond.

Me: Has my knitting in public ever embarrassed you?
DH: No, why would it embarrass me?  It keeps you from talking.

Me: Can you name another knitting blog?
DH: Cindy, Susan, Scout, Cabin Cove Dave and the Yarn Harlot.
He doesn’t know the actual blog names, but he can name some of their owners… I’m impressed!

Me: Do you mind that I want to check out yarn stores everywhere we go?

DH: No, you don’t take me with you.

Me: Do you understand the importance of a swatch?
DH: No

Me: Do you know what a swatch is?
DH: A piece of material.

Me: Do you read Serendipitous Opportuknitty?

DH: Not unless you tell me to look at something.

Me: Have you ever left a comment?
DH: Yes.

Me: Do you think the house would be cleaner if I didn’t knit?

DH: Other than the knitting stuff, no.  We have three kids.

Me: Is there anything else you want to say?
DH: Keep knitting and let me play WOW.

That’s pretty much all there is regarding that portion of this post, but I do have one question.  Is “Meme” pronounced, “Meem”, “Meemee”, or does the word sound completely different?

Now the deception. Tonight I baked a pie for dessert.  It turned out fine as far as pies go. The top featured an apple with a worm (made out of pie crust of course). Warm cinnamon scents filled the air and the girls ate dinner quickly in order to have dessert.  A2 and my DH  said it was delicious. A1 and A3 only ate a few bites because dinner had left them full. They put theirs in the refrigerator to eat at breakfast time.

A3 preparing to snatch the worm off and eat it.

Before I go on it must be clear that at no time did I say this was an apple pie. It does have a pastry shell apple on top and it does smell like cinnamon. But this pie was actually made with the dreaded, ubiquitous zucchini. It is a Mock Apple Pie made from a recipe found on-line. Everyone assumed it was apple. I didn’t correct them. Does my failure to correct them make me a liar?  Is this a form of entrapment or a vegetable conspiracy?  Pangs of guilt prickle my conscience as I debate as to whether or not to divulge the truth and reveal the hidden zucchini. In the words of Mulder, “The truth is out there.” But instead of aliens, we have little green veggies among us.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “A Meme and Deceit

  1. No, it keeps you from talking!!!

    way to go mock apples.

  2. That pie is sheer brilliance! Whether you should tell or not – well. I’ll just share a story. When my oldest son was little, I used to serve filet of sole often and he loved it. Then he learned to read and figured out filet of sole was fish. He announced “I don’t like fish” and has never – yes, never – eaten filet of sole since. He’s 27 now and still doesn’t eat fish.

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    No!!! Keep up the deception. If they can’t tell, so much the better. Your meme (I pronounce it memee, but I am clueless) with DH cracked me up. The ones that I have read have a recurring theme, but yours was the funniest with the “it keeps you from talking” line. Is he saying you talk alot? And, is that a problem? And, if so, why???????

  4. I don’t know the correct pronunciation. I say meem because I think of it as “the theme of me” or something, but that is pulled out of my head not from some reliable/googleable source

  5. I so love that meme!! I love the way all the husbands imply that while knitting is not inherently expensive, their wives make it that way. 🙂

    For goodness sakes, DO NOT confess about the pie. They love it – they are eating it. If you tell the truth, they will suddenly SWEAR that it didn’t taste right all along, and that they actually didn’t like it. I’ve seen it happen before with my dad (when my mom secretly switched the coffee to decaf and he didn’t know for months).

  6. I wouldn’t tell them. Heck, B said that you talk too much…you can just zip the lip and they’ll never know… Bwaa-haa-haa! >:)

  7. Rae

    Your pie secret is safe with me and I think that you should just keep it that way. Still needing an address so I can send you your prize…

  8. During WW2 in England a whole nation was led to believe they were eating stuff that was as described. Not so. Mangel-wurzels were turned into jam with the addition of some cochineal and sawdust. MWJam=turnip+ant-stuff(colouring)+fibre(sawdust)=red strawberry jam. Apricot jam was made with carrots and the rest was similar.
    Go for it HEIDE. I once bought a leg of kid rather than lamb and cooked it. All went well till I was carving it up and said what it was!

    Golly gosh, does any husband/partner really dare to challenge the serious knitter. Oh my golly gosh……..Noooo.
    Cheers Gillian

  9. Soooooooooooooo many Heidi’s in blogworld. I am a newbie:)

  10. Do not tell them under any circumstances! This is your final warning! They will never trust you again!

  11. Email me the link to that pie, would ya? We have a lot of large zukes around here… I’ve been making bread (and may post the recipe soon). I even stashed the big honker (it was about 2 feet long and weighed probably 5 pounds) in my neighbor’s car… they left it unlocked! And the second biggest one I brought to work to stash in the boss’s car, but she wasn’t there when I pulled in… so it went into the first unlocked car I could find.

  12. I am so honored that DH knew my name was Susan and that I am associated with a blog!!!

  13. That is SO AWESOME that you fed them zucchini disguised as apples!!

    Loved the interview! ;o)

  14. Pingback: Memorial Day Weekend « Serendipitous Opportuknitty

Leave a Reply

