Ten Years Ago

I miserably wandered the hallways of a Portland hospital in tears. Try as I might there was no way on Earth of convincing the admittance staff in the maternity ward I was in labor.  Both my husband and I tried reasoning with the stalwart wardens, only to be repeatedly told to “Just go home and call your ob in the morning.” I shan’t bore you with gory labor details or lamentations regarding our frustrations. Suffice it to say that we were right and they were wrong. Several hours later, while in the midst of admission paperwork and donning the stupid gown the anesthesiologist showed up. Finally the much anticipated epidural was at hand! He wheeled in his cart then uncovered a tray of scary and strange gadgets.  However, several minutes later he was covering up his instruments and rolling his cart towards the door.  Our epidural period had elapsed. It seems that some time after convincing Nurse Nasty that I was really going to push a whole person out onto her hallway floor and putting on that humiliating strip of cotton I’d magically passed the point of no return. Within a nano-second I realized that he was leaving and with him, all hopes of pain relief.  As he walked by the foot of my bed he reached out his hand, patted my leg and said, “You’re a strong and powerful woman!”  I answered, “No I’m not, come back!”.  He didn’t.  

That day we welcomed A2 into the family. 

1 month, having a bath

almost three

December 2007

A2 is one of the smartest people I’ve ever met. Her current quest is to find a way to make artificial honey. She knows that humans have the enzyme amylase in their saliva. She wants to find out which enzyme, etc. that bees have in their saliva so it can be replicated.  I’ve no idea how people will collect nectar, but I’m sure she’ll make up something.

She wants to study biology and work with animals. Some of her favorite activities include bird watching and bug collecting.   

A2 has been early for just about everything in her life. She started walking at 7 months. She began wearing glasses at the age of three and had braces at the age of nine.  She’s always been small for her age, but she’s very wiry and strong. Heaven help any boy who tries messing with her. Hopefully she’ll slow down though. I don’t want her growing up any faster than she already is. Happy birthday!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Ten Years Ago

  1. knitwonpurltoo

    Happy Birthday A2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You were a beautiful baby and you are a beautiful young woman! You’re in double digits now!!

  2. Happy B-day, A2.

    Love the bath/mirror shot.

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! After hearing about no-epidural story, I’m glad to hear she’s also always been small!! And the anesthesiologist was right, you are a Strong & Powerful Woman!

  4. Happy Birthday A2!!! Double digits totally rock. You are awesome. I can’t wait to buy some of your honey – I know you’ll figure it out.

  5. Happy birthday, A2
    Happy birthday, A2
    Happy Birthday dear Middle Kid…
    Happy birthday, A2!

    Middle kids are awesome (right, Heide?)
    Love, “Auntie” Karen

  6. Pingback: Nurse

  7. Gosh Heide, what a lot you went through to make sure that A2 came through and has been able to shine ever since.
    OK A2, you too, are now on the list of having somewhere to stay if you ever hit these shores. YES there is someone in UK offering you a place to stay. Any time, any way.

    Cheers for now
    Gillian
    xxxxx

  8. Happy Birthday, A2!

    And, what a chilling and all-too-familiar story about your labor and birth. Man, I’ve been there. Why won’t they just listen to the women having the babies?? I mean, they’re coming out of their bodies, right?

    Love what you wrote about your daughter!

Leave a Reply

