Things That Make Me Wonder

I’d rather cut off a digit than speak in a public forum. Okay, so maybe just a pinky or perhaps a toe because neither of those are used much for knitting… although some of you may question whether I knit with my toes. Sorry, I digress, but my point is that standing in front of a crowd with more than two peoples’ attention focused upon me is not my idea of a good time. That being said the following behavior is completely baffling to me. 

Two nights ago A1 came home and shouted, “Guess what?” and then like any pre-teen girl who talks a mile-a-minute, proceeded to tell me herself rather than wait for an answer.

“I’m only one of several kids who was picked to be in an assembly!” This proclamation was followed by an ear-piercing squeal.

“That’s really neat, Axxxx, what’s the assembly for? I asked.

“I don’t know, but you need to sign a permission form that says I can be in it.” At this point she handed me a form, complete with a fine print liability waiver at the bottom.

This is where the mommy alarms perked up.  What could possibly happen at an assembly that is controversial or potentially dangerous enough to require a parent or guardian to sign a waver?  Being a natural cynic and worrier the worst possible scenarios immediately came to mind. Were wild animals going to spar with my child in a gladiator-type exhibition? Had certain students been chosen to participate in a traveling knife juggling demonstration?  Of course I asked what was going on.

A1 was positively giddy as she replied, “We’re probably going to have food thrown at us. Last year peoples’ faces were covered in peanut butter and the audience threw popcorn at them!”

(cue cricket sounds as seconds pass in silence while my pea brain digests this information)

The only response I could think of was, “Why?”

“Because it’s fun!” she answered.

I signed the waiver and told her to bring a change of clothes.  I wonder why anyone would find this fun and how did a child of mine get to be so out going.

Last night I joined millions of other Americans in watching the VP debate.  This one seemed more lively than the presidential version. My opinions have not wavered after listening to them. I still hate politics, and find all politicians to be offensive. While viewing it I couldn’t help but think that Joe Biden looked like a caricature of a televangelist. His teeth scare me. And for heaven’s sake, will somebody please teach members of the Republican party how to correctly pronounce “nuclear”! I sometimes wonder if I’m the only person who vomits in their mouth when listening to these people speak.

Finally, as a tool to help students remember the definitions of spelling words some of the teachers have them create drawings representing the words. One of this week’s words is “muster”.  This is my daughter’s drawing.

I had her add an apostrophe to “mom’s”. My only other comments are, 1. the cats do too like my meatloaf, and 2. did she have to make the realistic saddle bags? Sheesh. I wonder if the teacher would ever accept a dinner invitation after viewing this.


10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Things That Make Me Wonder

  1. I hope they aren’t throwing prickly pears;-) I loved the picture and it was an excellent (yet, painful) use of the word. And, I bet your meatloaf is wonderful. Have a great weekend!

  2. Now that you mention it, the debate would have been better if they were both covered in peanut butter and everyone was throwing popcorn. Then cue the rabid squirrels.

  3. Rae

    Out of the mouths of babes… all I can do is laugh. Almost like Huba telling Dad not to ask me if I want ice cream because it defeats my bike riding….

  4. Tara Scott

    Your kids crack me up! They are sooo witty. I love the picture. I am sure your meatloaf is great!

  5. There was that lovely – pause while I pondered if I really knew the meaning of “muster” and what could it have to do with dinner, and then i scrolled down to the punch line and laughed out loud. startling the dog.

  6. I think I really like KitKat’s suggestion. That would certainly make the presidential debates MUCH more interesting and worth watching. ben is climbing on me like a jungle gym. Gotta take C to a soccer game. It doesn’t appear to be raining now–maybe it’ll hold of a couple hours.
    Love K

  7. That vocabulary picture is hilarious. I also can’t stand when folks say nucular. How was that assembly? What was it about??

  8. Glad we aren’t the only country with sickening politicians ( and yes, we have all noticed the pronunciation problem ). It’s a sad thing.
    Could A1’s 15 minutes-of-assembly-fame and your meatloaf have a closer connection than at mealtimes?
    Cheers Gillian 🙂

  9. OMG!! This post was just too funny! I had to read it out loud to the fam!! It was especially fun since my DH and I have now met A1. You HAVE to get someone to take pics at the assembly. I want to see this!!

  10. I love that picture! Will you ever be making meatloaf for them again? :p

    Oh, and a small award for you at my blog.

Leave a Reply

