I’m Permanent!

After working as a substitute teacher since last January I finally had a permanent job offer today! Because I lack the required Master’s degree/certification to be a real teacher I will be a para-educator. That means only smaller groups (my biggest one is seven) rather than an entire class, and without the nifty benefits as well. Is this the end-all beat-all job? Heck no. That would require employment that paid me lots of money  for drinking coffee, knitting, spinning and eating chocolate. Am I happy? Yes. My family really needs the stability and the hours and days off match my daughters’ school schedules. Whoo hoo to having no daycare and to having “inside connections” in the district network to keep tabs on my girls. 

Elsewhere, Henley Perfected  emerged from WIP hibernation this morning.

She’s none the worse for wear following months of neglect, but I need some quiet alone time to remember a few minor details… such as which size was I making and did I complete all of the sleeve hole decreases.  The only detail written down was a line number for the pattern repeat.

The girls have been busy in spite of having no chess club this week. A2 and A3 occupy their time indoors by reading, drawing and sculpting.

(Following this building session some of the PlayDoh was hopelessly and permanently mixed up.  This is something that really bothers both A3 and me. We made an agreement to shake it off and let it go. )

A1’s last volleyball game for the season is Thursday night. We’re all looking forward to catching up on our rest. She played hard, improved tremendously, won the coaches’ award for “determination” and most importantly, had a great time. She’s decided against playing basketball, but she does intend on joining the track team in the spring.  A3 wants to play baseball too so we may be right back into scrambling from one place to another.  

And now for something completely different… this is what my morning breakfast looks like. Mmm, mmm! This beats the heck out of waffles or eggs Benedict, don’t ya think?

Yes, that was sarcasm.

p.s. Tasha’s (the cat) bald spot has turned black. It hasn’t spread so I’m wondering if it might be bruising from where she ripped out her fur. None of the other websites’ descriptions have fit her symptoms enough for me to suspect any of the listed causes.  Thank you all very much for the suggestions, connections, etc. Each one is greatly appreciated.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I’m Permanent!

  1. Delicious! And a side of coffee! Congrats on the permanent job offer! I’m very happy for you! I’m hoping that we’ll be able to make a trip down to see you in a couple weeks and bring a few bags of wool with me. I picked up that one bag and Marie wrote to ask me if I want “the other bags, too”? I need to make arrangements to go get those. Maybe my sweet sister can pick them up and drive them down on Saturday? Take care!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    Congrats on the job! In these economic times, anything that brings in money consistently is a very good thing. I’ll bet you are breathing a huge sigh of relief. Take care, Sweetie!!!!

  3. Okay, I totally glanced at that post title too quickly and thought it said “I’m Pregnant”!!! Funny, huh? 🙂 Congrats on being Permanent though!!

  4. Congratulations!! I’m so happy for you and proud of you! This will be great for your family!!

Leave a Reply

