A Perfectly Good Weekend Shot to Hell

Friday afternoon I took Bonny to the vet where our fears were confirmed. After shaving the fur from her swollen face the vet discovered two sets of bite marks.  The infected bites weren’t visible through all of her fur and there were no scabs to feel. The swelling was from a large abscess.  Minor surgery alleviated the pressure, but now she faces uncomfortable recovery over the coming days. The poor little kitty has a drain tube sewn in place that will remain there until Tuesday or Wednesday. She is also on antibiotics. Because of the tube she has been coned. This means that every couple of hours someone (meaning me) has to remove the cone, clean the area and allow her to eat, drink and use the cat box. Her first instinct is to scratch the side of her face with her hind foot so she can’t be left alone for even a second while the area is exposed. 

dscn6257

The picture is left small on purpose, as it’s quite graphic.

I find the vet’s insistence that she needs no pain killer very disturbing. This has got to hurt. She hasn’t purred in two days. Because I’m the one who re-cones her following her brief respites from the tortuous headwear and cleans the wounds she’s very angry with  me.

We’ve no proof, but my bet is that the raccoons are to blame for the bites. Bonny will have her booster shots when the tube is removed just to be safe.  There isn’t anything we can do about the raccoons other than talk with the neighbors and ask them to keep all food indoors and garbage can lids secure. Theoretically if the animals’ food source is removed the roving gang will move on.  Personally, I’d opt for more drastic and permanent removal measures, but those options are not realistic or legal.

Of course caring for an invalid kitty thwarted our original plans of visiting friends up north this weekend.  Because the weekend was already shot to hell, I agreed to a sleep over for both my youngest and my eldest. My middle daughter is still grounded, although a few of her privileges have been reinstated due to good behavior.  So far the younger three girls have eschewed the designated play room

dscn6255

and have chosen to transform my once clean dining room into a giant clubhouse. 

dscn6253

They’ve emerged for wardrobe changes, food, bathroom breaks and to watch the Muppet Show on DVD.

The two older girls have entertained themselves by watching previews of “Twilight” over and over again on-line. They heard the camera and hid.

girlshiding

Fingers, toes, legs and eyes are crossed in hopes that today passes quickly and uneventfully.  Never thought I’d wish away a weekend.

P.S. No new knitting. I hate raccoons.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Perfectly Good Weekend Shot to Hell

  1. I’m sorry your weekend sucked! I know how it is to deal with sick pets; we nursed ours a couple weeks ago. I agree, poor kitty should have some kind of painkiller, if only to keep her from wanting to scatch and make her more relaxed. Short of that you could use what the pediatrician prescribed for my babies when they were teething; a tumbler, two ice cubes, and 2 fingers of Jack Daniels. To be taken every evening by Mother. It doesn’t stop the children from fussing, but it doesn’t bother Mother nearly as much.

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    Amen to Bobbie’s comment. Hope Sunday passed without too much more drama. Poor little Bonny and poor poor little Heidi. I’m sending a slobbery kiss from Grover, and major big hugs from me (Esau Marie is asleep thankfully).

  3. Sorry about the tough weekend and the raccoons. We have them here, too, although I don’t think they can get into the backyard. We had a possum in the back once, though, so our terrier harbors dreams of real prey, I’m sure.

    I’m finally coming up for air a bit after the election. I don’t think I had read a knitting blog for a month. And I’m writing for a news site, now, too, so still keeping track of everything.

    Anyway, hi, after a long haitus.

  4. Poor little Bonny. Stupid bully raccoons. I hope they meet with a terrible end soon.

  5. Oh, poor Bonny. I hope she’s coneless soon. Cones are NOT a fashion statement.
    Raccoons make nice hats, I don’t care what PETA says. And that’s about it.
    Cool fort they built. 😉

  6. I’m with Dave. Hats are cool…especially furry ones that are no longer a nuisance. We could call you Heide Crockett! Not much knitting today–I spent four hours cleaning my room (taking my own advise to the kids), folding laundry, and making meals every couple of hours. I’ll take a picture when I clear the bed off.

  7. Roxie

    Raccoons also make great collars. And I have an awesome muff made of raccoon fur. Sooo warm!

    Poor Bonny! And poor you to be the re-coner! Maybe some Feliway? And for you, Chamomile tea with honey and rum.

Leave a Reply

