Simplicity

Everyone knows that simplicity makes life much easier. Last night while making chicken pasties for dinner I threw some pies in the oven as well. This morning my girls happily ate pie for breakfast so I didn’t have to cook.  Given the extensive task list this little reprieve from one daily chore is quite welcome.

dscn62701

Back row: Lemon Meringue, Pumpkin.   Front row: Pumpkin, Chicken Pasties

The previously frogged ugly cardigan is well on its way to becoming several small projects. The yarn seems suited for these simple ribbed scarves.  dscn6273

After blocking they will go into the Christmas gift box.  We’re simplifying that holiday this year as well. Christmas lite if you will, with no planned parties, elaborate traditions or big ticket purchases. The shopping and planning stress just aren’t worth my health and sanity. Here’s wishing everyone a little simplicity over the next 6 weeks.

Whoo hoo, I’m simple! 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Simplicity

  1. Roxie

    Love the colors of that handspun! You have some lucky girt recipients.

    Pie for breakfast. You are a rockin’mom!

    May your holiday be peaceful and meaningful.

  2. Roxie

    Gift, not girt! Gift recipients.

  3. CindyCindy

    I love the scarf. Perfectly lovely and handspun, too. Chicken pasties and pies???? You’re the best!

  4. I’m all for the simple.

  5. Amen to simplicity, ESPECIALLY during the holidays. Your pies look glorious!

  6. Oh, by the way, I’ve been meaning to tell you again how much I love my Harry Potter socks from you. They are soft, warm, fit perfectly, beautifully knit and I feel very “Hufflepuffy” when I wear them (which is often). Especially when it’s my little secret that there are those cute little yellow stripes at the top hiding under my jeans. Thank you again for taking the time to knit them for me!

  7. Can I get your chicken pasties recipe? I need to expand my very dull dinner repertoire. Maybe I should give the kids pie for breakfast. Can’t be any worse than coco puffs, and probably more healthy than just toast–C’s usual breakfast. She’s not a big eater, and sometimes there’s only one bite out of the toast. Love the scarf! I think the yarn loves being a scarf, too. 🙂

  8. Christy

    I too must get the pasty chix recipe to add to my also dull evening routines…if you don’t mind. Luv the scarf – what size needle did you use? Also luv the pix of the huddled blanket protected kiddos…I remember those days and I’m glad I out grew them…LOL…now the monsters are bigger and ugggggglier and carry political status symbols. =)

    PS…just don’t buy the newest 3-ply Quilted Northern or you’ll really wish you hadn’t….

Leave a Reply

