How We Spent our Weekend

On Saturday A2 and A3 made dipped pretzel rods for Christmas presents.

dscn6355

They had a fabulous time. Cleaning hardened chocolate, candy cane pieces, etc. off the counter took much longer than their candy production though.

After starting to make Roxy’s Rum Balls I remembered that the piece which holds our food processor blade in place had disappeared during our move. A failed attempt at using the Kitchen Aid mixer resulted in flying cookies and a huge mess. Finally, I settled on a more hands-on approach to cookie crushing.

dscn6356

My DH informed me that this is cheap rum.  I’ll take his word for it, not being a drinker myself, and hope that the inferior ingredient doesn’t effect the finished product.  I used dark chocolate for the inside and then rolled the balls in melted milk chocolate and chopped nuts.

dscn6357

The only problem with them is that my husband won’t stay out of them.  Because of the live (uncooked) alcohol the kids can’t and wont’ eat them. I let them each try a smidge of the center and they all proclaimed it to be “yucky”.

I finished knitting a pair of socks for A3.

dscn6359

I had to pull the bed covers back this morning to sneak a picture.

Of course mundane tasks, such as laundry, shampooing up cat barf, packaging items from ebay sales, etc. took up the majority of the days. Sadly, the house looks messier now than it did several days ago. 

This week is booked solid with activities and promises to be all kinds of crazy.  Off to work now. Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “How We Spent our Weekend

  1. I think I am tired now!

    The rods look great, btw.

  2. CindyCindy

    Cookies and pretzel rods? Who cares about the house? You are doing the things memories are made of. I can guarantee when I die no one will ever mention how good a housekeeper I was. NO ONE!

  3. I can at least say that no one will have done a reality show about the condition of our houses, so I think we’re safe. Nice socks on A3!
    Hugs, K

  4. Christy

    Looks fun & yummy to me…but we all know looks can be deceiving…LOL…Love the blue sockys – they look comfy 🙂

    …for future ease of making cookie crumbs…put them in the zip lock and use a rolling pin to roll/smash them AND keep them from flying freely indoors. 🙂

    Welcome to the holiday season!

Leave a Reply

