It’s Back!

Normally, I’d post a WTF Wednesday, but that will be moved to Thursday this week.  Today I must say “Thank you!” to  Kathleen for restoring my Knitting Mojo! Kathleen decided to entrust me with an all-important test knit for a pattern she wrote. Yesterday afternoon a package arrived containing the mystery pattern and a pre-wound skein of gorgeous Stitch Jones yarn.  

After fixing the kidlets their after-school snacks and doing a quick homework review I cast on.  Unfortunately after about three rows I nodded off and fell asleep. The narcoleptic fit was no reflection on the pattern, but rather the result of a very long and trying work day. After waking up a few seconds  about an hour later the urge to resume knitting proved almost overwhelming.  Unfortunately dinner needed fixing so the coveted knitting was sadly set aside. After dinner it was time for the afore-mentioned homework . A3’s required adult participation rather than just occasional assistance. Throughout the study session my thoughts wandered to the knitting. Next it was bath and bed time for the girls.   Do you recall the commercial about herding cats?

That’s what bedtime is like at our house, but with children.

Finally, to escape the requests for water, under bed checks, watching X-Files (DH and I watch older episodes, courtesy of one of his co-workers) I staged my own bedtime. Donning pajamas, yawning loudly, with the yarn and pattern tucked discretely under my arm I “went to bed.” There, alone, I knitted.  Sharing  pictures of the knitting or giving too much information about the pattern are not optional, but I will say that it’s an enjoyable knit. The subtle pattern adds interest and texture that works perfectly with the yarn. 

At work I usually shun the teacher’s lounge for an empty classroom. This isn’t because I don’t like my co-workers, but rather because I’m afraid of saying something inappropriate.  The social filters keeping most people from voicing every opinion are failing as  years progress. Anyway, today the refuge will be used for a private knitting get-away.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s Back!

  1. knitwonpurltoo

    Yay for Kathleen!

  2. I love that commercial. I remembered seeing it a long time ago, but I couldn’t remember what they were selling…like the one about raining shoes. Not that I have a shoe fetish–I only have two pairs of shoes that I wear regularly.
    Good luck with the knitting!

  3. I can’t wait to see it!!!

  4. Wooo! Mystery knitting. When is the great reveal?

  5. I am so glad that your knitting mojo is back, it must have been lonely without it. Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

