On Illnesses

After making sure that someone could cover for me at work yesterday I left and drove directly to the doctors’ offices.  I’d had enough of phone calls, advice nurses and waiting for appointment call backs that never come. Once at the DO I waited in line for appointment check-ins then told the receptionist that I needed to see someone. Now.  I made it abundantly clear that I wasn’t leaving until someone saw me. I didn’t care if it was in intern cleaning rooms, but I wanted the “all clear” (or not) on my lungs.  Anybody wielding a stethoscope would do. Amazingly, she found an opening… with a real doctor, not the janitor.  It seems that there is usually a doctor on call but they’re reserved for emergency (or in this case really obnoxious) patients.

Luckily I don’t have pneumonia or swine flu.  This is just a respiratory infection with bronchitis. Anyway, I’m taking today off from work to rest and let the antibiotics kick in. Hopefully guilt over housework, etc. won’t goad me into working all day.   

Speaking of Swine Flu… in a couple of days my brother and my new sister-in-law return from their honeymoon in Mexico.  They weren’t in or around Mexico City so they shouldn’t have been exposed to anything yucky.  I wonder if incoming passengers will be checked when they return to the U.S.

Tasha is sick again too. This time her right eye is infected so her inner lid is up completely. The vet put her on eye drops and antibiotics.  Hopefully our medications won’t be mixed up. If sudden urges to munch kibble or lick my butt manifest themselves then I probably screwed up.  Cheers!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “On Illnesses

  1. I’m sorry you are sick. You’ve been running yourself ragged. Poor kid. Take care. And, poor old Tasha. Bless her heart. I’ll pay to see a picture of you licking your butt;–D

  2. Glad you got to see the doc, nothing like a doc saying one is Ok and handing over some anti-biotics, immediately I feel better.
    Shame about the piggy flu [flying pigs?] hope the honeymooners are fine. My daughter and g’son are due to visit here next week, I hope. I don’t know how much news enters her full life, but I guess she will be weighing up sitting on a plane, with a babe, breathing recycled air for ten hours; repeat. Timing is everything.

  3. Hope it clears soon!

  4. Thank God for modern medicine. And hooray for y ou for doing what it takes to get what you need! Hope you stay down and let those drugs do their work. REST, damn it!

  5. I hope by now the lungs are much better. And you’re leaving butt licking and kibble crunching to the kitty. Thanks for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

