Friday and Summer Goals

Happy, happy Friday!  Now that school’s out Fridays don’t seem as glamorous, nor do the bring they satisfactory relief of having finished off another week.  But still, Happy Friday. Our home repair/ to-do list has been growing at an alarming rate during the past year.  Some of tasks include:

DSCN7351blog Replacing the leaded glass in our front door or replacing the entire door.

DSCN7353blog Mending and cleaning our living room furniture… again.

DSCN7355blog Replacing broken or missing handles in the kitchen and bathroom

DSCN7356blog Cleaning skylights and painting the living room/dining room

DSCN7360blogReplacing A2’s door, which I tried to unsuccessfully paint.  The varnish proved nigh on impossible to sand or strip off because of the grooves in the door.

DSCN7359blog Cutting down the dead tree and weeding my “garden” so that my annual plants can be seen again.

DSCN7358blog Starting the weed eater and finishing the edges sometime this summer. I’ve never been able to get the weed eater started unless someone else has started it first. It’s the same way with our push mower.

DSCN7357blog Pressure wash the green slime off of the decks and replace the nails with screws where the boards are lifting up.

Many of the tasks I could do myself, but I’ve been procrastinating because I know that they’ll turn into major projects.  But alas, the time has come to take action. My goal is to complete at least one (maybe two) of these tasks each week over the summer.  There are other chores too, but this is a good starting place. By listing them out here I hope that I’ll be reminded/shamed into doing them.  For those jobs I can’t do then I need to get some estimates. Is there anybody who will work for cookies or handknits? Nah, didn’t think so.

Today I’m off to Home Depot with list in hand and kids in tow. Definitely not a day to skip taking my Prozac. Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Friday and Summer Goals

  1. knitwonpurltoo

    You are so brave. I look at what I need to do and just find something else to occupy my little brain;-P The leading on the door might be less expensive than replacing the whole door, but I don’t know. You might check around to see if there is a stained glass school/shop/class. I have done it and if you don’t really know what you’re doing, it’s hard as holy heck. Your others on the lists? At least I don’t have a sky-light and my bedroom door doesn’t need painting (thank heavens). Everything else looks dauntingly familiar. Happy Friday!!!!

  2. Are you kidding?? I’d work for cookies as long as it meant we could spend a few days together and knit as well as paint, replace handles, clean ceiling fans, etc. Let me know what your summer schedule is like! Hugs, K

  3. Hey, you should take Karen up on that, sounds like a deal.
    Just 10 more weeks until Labor Day and the new school year…

Leave a Reply

