Happy Fourth of July!

Happy Independence Day to everyone here in the United States. For everyone else… wish you were here to join the party. I love our country! I love that there are other nations where people take pride in their homeland too.  I’m not trying to belittle any other country by saying this.  I love that people have came here from everywhere and still take pride in their ancestry.  Many cities host a variety of languages, food, dress styles, etc. rather than displaying a homogenized, blandness.  We can learn lots from one another and enjoy these differences, but we also know that on this day we all share a sense of common identity, unity and camaraderie.  Eating barbecue and watching things blow up can do that ;)! 

So often people here complain, myself included. It’s good to sit back and reflect on how good we really have it. I may not always agree (okay, so I often don’t) with decisions made by the government. But I’m free to complain, to vote for others or to try and change things myself.  

I can go to any church, or none at all. Recruiters from various religions are free to come to my door and I am free to tell them to “go away.”

Medical treatment isn’t free for most people, us included, but my kids have access to vaccines, antibiotics, emergency treatement and other medicines.  Paying for doctor visits, etc. may be expensive, but it’s still optional.

Often  people complain about public schools, but the reality is that if families emphasize education at home and the kids put in the effort our children can get first rate educations. I find it ridiculous when people complain that their kids don’t learn anything and that the school’s suck when those same people’s children come home from school and turn on the television or play video games for hours, often without adult input or supervision. 

Food here is plentiful and still costs less per-capita than in many other developed countries.  Many of our nations’ health problems are self-inflicted because of poor food choices.  Ahem, cough, cough… I’m completely guilty of the sheer quantity and quality that lead to my current waistline.  Some people still have trouble stretching to buy food after other bills, but there are often government programs and many private organizations generously help.

There is no Utopia and life isn’t perfect no matter where you live, but I’m grateful and proud to be an American. Don’t worry, I’m not going to play a Lee Greenwood song.  Off to take the kids to the beach and watch things blow up. Cheers! 

p.s. posting away from home so no pictures

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy Fourth of July!

  1. knitwonpurltoo

    Amen. Happy 4th to you and yours!

  2. You are so right, I feel the same way about Britain, but also as Thomas Jefferson said
    The spirit of resistance to government is so valuable on certain occasions, that I wish it always to be kept alive.

Leave a Reply

