Regular Happenings

A1, A2, E and I ended up going to a downtown park instead of walking through the intended trails.  The reason was that there were unsavory folk lurking near the trail head with shifty looks about them.   We had fun where we ended up though. There is a chlorinated play area so they waded and played there.

DSCN7653blog

DSCN7654blog

Across the courtyard a young couple posed for wedding photos. They looked so young and sweet together.  While the photographer reloaded or changed lenses they waited holding hands and talking intimately.  I couldn’t help but take this picture… from a distance of course, I’d never have interrupted their moment.  Hopefully they’ll have lots of time together and this young Marine won’t be deployed soon or to someplace dangerous.

DSCN7651blog

The girls allowed me to dart into the town’s remaining yarn store. I picked up some masculine sock yarn (most of mine is definitely girly) and I found some of the same Cashmere/Merino blend that I made last week’s cowl out of.  Turns out I had the blend totally wrong. It’s actually 80% Merino and 20% Cashmere.

DSCN7659blog

This is double duty yarn. Not only will it be wrapped up for my impending birthday of doom as a gift from my DH (I’ll feign surprise with an Oscar-winning performance), but it’s destined to be transformed into two Christmas presents.  I’ll have the joy of transforming it now, then later someone else receives a warm gift.  It’s a win/win scenerio. I can’t wait to cast on another cowl and a pair of socks!

Sand paper is at the top of this morning’s shopping list. The poor wheel suffered great indignities and humiliation as I tried to paint a new picture on it.

wheel

Sorry you had to witness that, but life isn’t always a bed (or even a couple of) roses.  Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Regular Happenings

  1. knitwonpurltoo

    I think the wheel looks great. What exactly is wrong with it? The yarn is beautiful. Birthday of impending doom? snort;-D

  2. I don’t see anything wrong with the wheel, either. It’s gorgeous! Do you want anything for your birthday? I mean, something I can reasonably afford to do?

  3. I’m glad you guys had a good time at the urban play area but how sad that you were driven away from the trails by insavory types. Would you have felt differently if DH was there with you? Not that I can’t have nerve on my own, by my Number Guy is quite a bit more intimidating that I am in the stature department and I am less worried about the unsavory types when he is with us.

Leave a Reply

