Subdued

Sometimes I forget that I have M.S. Other than memory issues, clumsiness and fatigue I don’t feel “sick”. This forgetfulness is a good thing because I don’t want to dwell in self-pity, nor do I want to be treated differently by others. Most people never know that there’s something wrong with me (other than insanity). Sometimes it bites me in the ass though when I do too much. This weekend was quite exciting and required more exertion than normal though so my ass has been bitten. Hard. In fact I need to give a box of toothpicks to the Yarn Fume monster to help him remove shreds of it from his teeth.

Don’t get me wrong, I had a fabulous time and have no regrets. I especially enjoyed the company of Jessica. Not only were A3 and the kitties particularly enamoured with her, but she brought an awesome chocolate cake with her. I had the last piece for breakfast this morning.
DSCN7853blog

Jessica also gave me an absolutely gorgeous pair of handknitted socks.
DSCN7854blog
DSCN7856blog

To go along with the afore-mentioned sluggishness came the sad news that Abundant Yarn and Dyeworks is closing their store. This was my absolute favorite of all the yarn stores I’ve visited in Portland. I hope that their employees will all find enjoyable work quickly and that the on-line portion of their store will continue to grow and thrive.

But by far, the most tragic news of all that is casting shadows and gloom over our home came from a phone call yesterday. A1’s BFF, and our part-time fourth daughter, “E” was told that one of her older sisters had been in a car accident. We drove E over to meet up with her aunt where we learned that E’s sister and three of her friends had died. A fourth friend is still in critical condition. All Five young people had just graduated from our local high school. The loss has been devastating to the community and I can’t even imagine what the families are going through. They weren’t drinking. They were heading out to the coast to spend some time together before the friends all went their separate ways for college, etc. when the driver lost control of her car. There are no words of comfort for these families.

Today we’re all staying home. If the girls want to lounge in pjs all day then they may. I’m making a big pot of mashed potatoes, some tea later and we’re going to just do nothing. Life is short and doing “nothing” with loved ones is way under rated.

“How do you do Nothing?” asked Pooh. “Well, it’s when people call out at you just as you’re going off to do it, `What are you going to do, Christopher Robin?’ and you say, `Oh, nothing’ and then you go and do it. It means just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.”

a.a. milne

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Subdued

  1. Rest up and enjoy your girls (including ancient Tasha and Bonny). I cannot express in words my horror when kids die. They are not supposed to go first.

  2. Give E lots of hugs from her Auntie Karen and tell her I’m so sorry. Hugs to all of you, too. Enjoy your mashed potatoes (with lots of butter–butter makes it better), and take the day off.
    K

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about those poor girls. It’s great that you treasure even the simple moments with yours. (Great socks too!)

  4. Children dying has to be the greatest horror – I’m so sorry for your friend.

  5. chillsider

    Such tragic news, all best wishes to you all.

  6. OH! This makes me want to squeeze my own girls until their guts pop out their heads (crude but I think every parent understands). I have no doubt these girls were very responsible and wonderful – the world will be a dimmer place without them. Makes me cry to even consider myself in those parents’ shoes, I can’t even imagine what they’re going through. Take care and give your girls big squozins.

  7. Oh how terrible. I can’t even imagine having to deal with such terrible news. I’m sure it’s a hard blow to A1 as well, to have such a devastating thing happen to her friend. Everyone will be in my thoughts.

  8. How awful! So sorry, what a terrible tragedy! Prayers and hugs.

  9. Roxie

    You are a wise mom. There are times in life when you just can’t make it better and there is nothing to say. Mashed potatoes and pajamas are always good.

  10. Jessica

    That’s horrible! Take care and I hope E manages to come through this ok.

  11. Beautiful socks – and I’m so very sorry to hear such terrible news. :o(

Leave a Reply

