Three Day Weekend

Friday was a state school holiday so we all enjoyed a three day weekend! The girls and I slept in Friday (6:00am for me, 12:00pm for A1 and times in between for A2 and A3). We spent the entire day wearing sweats, watching television and generally being lazy.  

We also ate. This was especially important for A3.  I’ve touched before on her health issues, which include ADHD and Aspberger’s.  The latter of which means lots of social groups and everyone trying to help her determine what’s acceptable behavior then make the correct choices.  The former (the ADHD) is so severe that after years of debating, questioning and going without we made the decision to start using medication last year.  The first prescription was a problem because she can’t swallow pills and she’d hide them. The second prescription came in capsule form and could be sprinkled on a spoonful of food. Unfortunately, we kept having to increase the dosage of this medication over time. In August we met again with the doctors and tried a new time release form of medication.  All seemed to be going well at first. However, as the past 8 weeks have worn on the side effects of this medicine have reached critical levels.  It’s common for children to suffer some appetite loss and a certain degree of lethargy, but A3 stopped eating.  Even her most favorite foods could only tempt her to take small nibbles.  She was already thin, but she began to look gaunt. She was extremely moody and would cry for the slightest reasons.  On Thursday I received several phone calls from her school saying that she was just sitting with her head on her desk doing nothing. She’d even fallen on the floor a couple of times.  She wasn’t being “bad” she was just out of it. My guess is that hunger combined with the medicine had totally wiped her out.  During this 8 week time I’ve been in contact via email with her doctor and we’d made some minor dosage adjustments.  I picked her up from school early on Thursday (the school I work for gets out an hour before hers) and sent another email to the doctor.  Friday I didn’t give A3 any medication. At all.  She was bouncing off the walls, making lots of loud, strange noises and EATING.  I think she’s making up for lost meals because for the past three non-medicine days she’s been eating the equivalent of 6 meals per day.  We even shared some special treats.

DSCN8109blog

Now we face the problem of what to do about tomorrow. I really don’t want her medicated anymore, at least not with the same drugs she had before, but she probably will not be able to sit still or be quiet enough to remain in her classroom.   The doctor sent us back an email with a new list of medications we can try.  But until we can have her physically checked again and meet face-to-face I don’t want to agree to any of them.  In the meantime I’m sending emails to the school and making some phone calls to find out that, should it become necessary, if there is some place that A3 can bring her work so that she’s not disturbing her classmates or getting into trouble.

Besides feeding my children I’ve worked on finishing up some knitting UFOs.  The buttons are now on the BSJ and it has matching socks.

DSCN8110blog

This plain Jane sock has a mate and the pair shall be given to a co-worker tomorrow. She needs some cheering up and these should be bright enough to do the job.

DSCN8108blog

I used the “Sock Toe Chimney” technique for the first time.  This method really simplifies the workings of Kitchener stitches and would make teaching much easier because new knitters (and some of us older ones) can see exactly what we’re supposed to be doing and with which stitches.

DSCN8106blog

I also pulled out and finished the fingers on the gloves from Cabin Cove’s Kaleidoscope Silk.  Unfortunately, I tried weaving in the ends, snipping tails, which there are a lot of on gloves, etc. at night while not wearing my glasses or using my OTT light.  The result was severed stitches in multiple locations. This morning I patched them up and finished them.  Because of the stupid mistake though they are not suitable for gifting.   They’d been destined for hands other than mine. I love the colors and the feel of the silk though.

DSCN8115blog

There’s just enough of the yarn left over to make a case for my I-Pod.  The poor little thing suffered a trip though our washing machine late last month and I thought for sure he was a goner. Luckily he dried out just fine, complete with files in tact. The only reminder of the near-death experience is some water marking on the inside of the screen.

DSCN8105blog

This afternoon I’m baking lots of banana bread, some cookies and hopefully I’ll find time to knit the second ear for A2’s Halloween kitty hat.  A1 is with a classmate and the two of them are making a PSA movie for their leadership class. They’re both smart girls but they act completely silly together. I doubt they’ll be able to make it through a single scene without laughing.  Hope everyone has enjoyed a wonderful weekend.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Three Day Weekend

  1. Roxie

    Geeze, is the cure worse than the illness? Glad she’s been eating, but yes, bouncing off the walls is hard on the teachers. Wish I could make useful suggestions. She’s fortunate to have you for a mom.

    • Heck, the poor kid probably inherited the problems from me. The side effects have definitely overshadowed any positives and it’s time to move on. I’d love to have her on a 504 program that included her having access to a small trampoline or other exercise equipment. That way when she started to get too wound up she could go someplace and burn off some energy. That would take care of the ADHD issue, but the Aspberger’s is something else. Loud noises have her dropping to the floor and covering her ears. She also can’t stand tight or rough clothing. We’ve learned to be very selective shoppers to prevent her from suddenly stripping out of something that rubs or chafes.

      Do your brothers still hunt and if so, do they set you up with venison? I hope so after reading about the task they assigned you.

  2. That’s rough for you and A3. Do you belong to any Self help groups of either condition so you can compare difficulties and possible solutions?
    A face to face sit down with a consultant is a really good move, so you can have a full discussion on pros and cons.
    The school could be involved in discussions so they fully understand the situation and their responsibilities..
    It feels wrong to me that A3 has to be so medicated to fit in with the school, unless the school is also making significant moves to accomodate her difference. Schools should be for all the kids, not just the ones that fit its routine………..
    In GB a pupil will [should] have the extra funding to have a full time classroom assistant to help her in the classroom and to negotiate strategies with the teacher, helping her focus, encouraging, such as working outside the classroom when helpful to both sides. Here the school, pupil and parents agree a contract. Does that apply in the States?
    A parent group of kids with similar reactions to schooling would give you support and confidence to argue your case.
    As you know A3 is a person and she has the same rights to be educated as everyone else. You are a great mum, the school has to be as good as you.

    • Thank you Glenn, In the US there are several programs in place for students who qualify. Because Ashley has medical diagnostics for both of her conditions she more than qualifies, but I’ve been beating my head against a wall trying to get the school to set up a formal plan. I just came back from another nagging session where I went in and pretty much demanded that they get her set up. I was explicit with my expectations. Ironically, I work as a para-educator in a different elementary school and provide exactly that type of one-on-one service to students there. We are working on trying to get her into a social group so she can talk with other kids and we can talk with parents about concerns, etc. Hopefully we’ll make some progress soon. If not I may take up drinking.

  3. Wow, that’s pretty scary. You absolutely should go into that school and demand more classroom assistance for her. I guarantee that her school gets federal funding for children with disabilities and they should have already been setting up more assistance for her.

    Good luck with the medication. I hate how long it takes to get a child the correct medication without putting them in jeopardy. That call from the school would have scared me to death.

  4. It’s ironic isn’t it. I used to work in a Behavioural unit for troubled adolescents just when my own two were doing their teenager “thing”.
    I knew I would be much less effective if I worked with my own kids instead as they just saw me as “mum” and often the perceived cause of their problems.
    But it was galling that i was working so hard trying to help other peoples’ kids when the people supposedly guiding my own thru education were doing such a lousy job.

Leave a Reply

