Eeyore

Hey there, time for the gloom and doom report! Just kidding, although that’s all it seems to be any more. A3 was confirmed with H1N1 at the doctor’s office and the poor little kidlet is very sick. My DH has been staying home with her in the day time and I’ve been watching her during the nights. There are lots of students and teachers out with a variety of illnesses at school too. Strep is making the rounds in the forms of strep throat and at least one case of Scarlet Fever. In addition two cases of Viral Meningitis have also been confirmed. I carry a huge container of Lysol wipes everywhere for opening door handles, etc. Yuck!

I finished knitting a hat for a co-worker’s birthday, but alas, no picture. This afternoon if A3 sleeps then some Christmas gift knitting will be worked on too.

A2 and I put flyers up all around our neighborhood and searched the local shelter for Tasha, but we’ve had no luck in locating her yet. The shelter is so full of cats now that they’re forced into euthanizing the really sick animals coming in. I can’t help but feel that she’s somewhere still in the neighborhood though, perhaps in someone’s back yard bushes. Bonny seems quite sullen. I think it’s because Tasha is gone, but my DH thinks she’s just being a cat.

Hope everyone is doing well. If the afternoon allows I’d like to catch up on blog reading to see what everyone is up to. Cheers!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Eeyore

  1. Please give wee one a hug from me. Poor little sweetie. Sounds delightful with all the illness surrounding you. Masks are looking better all the time, aren’t they? As for dear old Tasha? I hope you get some closure on her. She is/was one tuff kitty. And, little Bonny, is grieving, too.

  2. I am so sorry, sometimes life just explodes, right? My only suggestion on the kitty is to think about any neighbors that are on vacation. Awhile back I lived with a family that had a cat. the cat disappeared for awhile and one day we heard a garage door open and he came darting back. The people had been on vacation and he was in their garage when they left so he was just stuck in there.
    Good luck !

  3. RAE

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your little family.

  4. Heide…I am so sorry to hear about your daughter! It is very scary! I hope you are all doing okay. Hopefully you and your husband are getting some rest too. If there is anything you need or that I can do, let me know. I’ll let you know if we’re down that way.

  5. Kelly had some flu-like thing all last week, and he’s still getting better. Luckily, the rest of us were spared (so far…). Big hugs to everyone–and hope the rest of you stay well. Love, K

  6. Roxie

    The fact that hundreds of thousands of kids get H1N1 and get over it isn’t news, so there are no media blitzes. You take good care of your kids, they are strong and natural fighters. She will pull through and have a very valuable immunity for the rest of her life. So will the rest of you. H1N1 is not a death sentence. It’s the flu. It’s a rough strain, but the media has been way too scarey about it.

    I like the idea of carrying the disinfectant wipes for door handles. Good thought!

    Prayers for Tasha.

    Hugs to you!

    • Thank you Roxie. I no news from the neighbors, Humane Society or responses from the Craigslist ad for Tasha. I know this sounds weird, but I can’t “feel” her anymore and I haven’t since Monday morning. I wish the neighbors would agree to letting me check under their backyard bushes. I think she curled up under one and never got up. My concern with Ashley is that she’s so frail and this is hitting her pretty hard. Today is the fifth day in a row of her having a fever. Thank heavens she ate something last night though so hopefully she’s turning the corner. The rest of us had something similar, but not anywhere near this severe. I work with nose pickers.

  7. Gillian

    What can I do to help? Such kindness has always come my way from you, I wish I could repay. Hope “Recovery” is the name of the game and perhaps “Discovery” too for Tasha, one way or another so that she can be taken care of finally. I’m sure you are right with your feeling, we do seem to have a connection with our cats.
    Thinking of you,
    Cheers a bit, Gillian

  8. Gah! Poor kid. I just found out that as a volunteer at Neatnik’s school, I am eligible for H1N1 vaccination. I think I shall avail myself of the opportunity.

    Speedy healing, A3.

  9. very best wishes to A, hope she is feeling cooler today

Leave a comment