Tis the Season

This weekend a package arrived all the way from Finland. It was from my cousin, Helena, and her family.   They’re neighbors with the big man himself, Santa.  We already gobbled up the ginger cookies and most of the candy.  The adorable ornaments are on the tree.  I’m going to make a pot of the tea to drink this evening, it smells delicious.  Thank you Helena, we love everything.

With only 10 days left before Christmas, panic is fast being replaced with apathy.  So far I’ve not mailed cards, baked, made plans for the day itself or even gone shopping.  A small amount of gift knitting took place on Saturday.  None of the items have been blocked yet. I’m going to try and finish some more items and do them all at once.

Thursday is A3’s 9th birthday and A2’s Christmas concert. Friday is the last day of school and our work group’s Christmas party.  I don’t know yet if I’m bringing my girls with me to the party. It depends on whether or not my DH will be home. He’s busy with training. Saturday is A3’s birthday party.  After that all should settle down.  Of course I know that Christmas isn’t about the cards, food, presents, etc.   Doctor Seuss summed it up best.

     ‘It came without ribbons! It came without tags!’         

      ‘It came without packages, boxes or bags!’

      And he puzzled three hours, till his puzzler was sore.

     Then  the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before

     ‘Maybe Christmas,’ he thought, ‘

      ‘Maybe Christmas…perhaps…means a little bit more

We’ve already decided to forego outside lights, setting up the Dicken’s village and candy making in a last ditch sanity-saving effort.  But  I still would like to have the Who pudding and roast beast ready for the feast…  and maybe a curmuzzler for the girls. Cheers!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Tis the Season

  1. I’m really not ready yet, either, but come it will and we shall greet it joyously!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    We are never completely ready. Don’t worry about it!!!!!

  3. Roxie

    Things, details, – – don’t pet the sweaty stuff – – uh, I mean, don’t sweat the petty stuff. You already have Christmas in your house. It lives there all year long and comes out whenever you’re generous, kind to one another, or take pleasure in each other’s company. Once a year you dress it up in glitz and tinsel, but it’s the same Chrismas as always. U gots it!

  4. I’m not remotely ready, but I did finish this year’s batch of your amazing Molasses Cookies last night!

    Mostly I need to do a giant Amazon order by Thursday, I think everything else will fall into place. Of course, we got a piece of good/bad news yesterday. Good for the DD, bad for the schedule only: Student of the Month Assembly tomorrow, yay! And Girl Scout Fun Night turns out to be tonight and both of my co-leaders are under the weather so I can’t beg off. But it’s all going to get done.

    Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family if I don’t get back here before The Day!

  5. I have to admit it has been over 15 years since I decorated for Christmas and longer than that since I sent cards. We do have a small gift exchange in the family, but that’s mostly for the kids. Christmas for us is the meal, the company and the spitir of the season.

  6. Gillian

    I cooked a christmas cake for the first time ever today………..Sooooooo……… OK there are things still to do………..wish you all the best with everything.
    Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

