Hello 2010!

What a grand start to the new decade!  Today, in an unusual fit of domestic bliss, I baked cookies and cinnamon rolls.

Intentions of stocking  our freezer for the upcoming school/work week were nearly thwarted by a gang of impatient degenerates, a.k.a., my family.  Convincing them that the cinnamon rolls needed to cool and be frosted required threats of violence.   The silly people acted like they’d been forced into starvation, which is ironic considering  the abnormally large meals and snack foods enjoyed over the past few weeks. The freezer is now well-stocked with frozen casseroles, baked goods and other staples  put together over Christmas vacation.   Staying home meant we enjoyed daily clean laundry . We  also grew accustomed to staying up late and sleeping in.  Monday puts an end to these luxuries as we’ll return to our normal, chaotic, lives.

Knowing that free time is coming to an end, I also cast on a new shawl. 

I’m normally not a mohair fan, but this yarn has been  *marinating in my stash for about 6 years. It’s time had come.  Surprisingly, this sideways endeavor is warm, pleasant and satisfying to knit.  The pattern is simple enough that no frogging has been required, otherwise it might not be so satisfying.  Ripping out mohair is akin to zipping up  neck skin in your coat zipper and knowing that the only way to get it off is to unzip, one painful tooth at a time.

Tomorrow my parents are driving down for a visit. We’ve still not had our Christmas with them.  The tree and decorations have all been put away so it won’t feel quite the same.  Driving up to their house just wasn’t in the cards this season.  Unlike most areas of the continental U.S., we’ve had unseasonably warm and wet weather so the roads should be safe.  

Formal New Year’s resolutions weren’t made, but getting out to walk more and firm up isn’t a bad idea.   I’ll play it by ear.  Wishing everyone a peaceful and prosperous 2010. Cheers!

*spell check didn’t like the word “marinating” and suggesting I change it to “urinating”.  The minute yarn starts that I’ll take up a new hobby.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Hello 2010!

  1. Isn’t spellcheck fun?!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    urinating???? EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. Happy New Year to you all. Your shawl is lovely and I cracked up with your analogy of ripping mohair and zipping skin. Amen! I think I’m kinda ready to get back into the routine. Hugs from here and have fun with the family!!!

  3. Gillian

    I daren’t look into the bottom of my stash basket now.
    Happy New Year, Heide. The shawl looks lovely and a stockinette main part with a patterned edging is the safest way to avoid having to frog mohair.
    It is snowing again here today and we have had quite serious snow on the ground for nearly two weeks. Time for Spring, I say.
    Cheers Gillian

  4. Roxie

    Oooo, the shawl is yummy! And surely all your yarn is housebroken by now. You made me laugh out loud!

    I baked yesterday, too. I even thought I might try real from scratch cinnamon rolls, but I looked all over the store, and couldn’t find any scratch anywhere. No frozen scratch, no packaged scratch, not even any bulk scratch. I’m headed to Bob’s Red Mill today to see if they carry it. In the meantime, I made choc-chip cookies.

  5. Rae

    Cheers Heidi! Hope your visit with your parents was wonderful. Please remind me to come see you if I ever do zip up my neck!

  6. I rousted everyone here early today in an attempt to head off Monday return to school crankiness by moving it up to Sunday crankiness. I think we shall manage, though: mass runs five hours less than the school day.

    Happy 2010.

Leave a Reply

