I’m Not Complaining!

There is no way on earth that I’m going to complain about continuous rain after checking out the weather reports for the rest of the nation.  Heaven help those folks enduring the -50°F wind chill factor and weeks of sub-zero temperatures.  Standing on a soggy playground watching first graders sloshing around in drizzle seems like a tropical paradise in comparison.

I’m not going to complain about knitting with mohair yarn because 1. I had yarn to knit with. 2. and more importantly, IT’S FINISHED!  This proved to be a great learning experience.  The pattern featured several crucial design elements.

First, the pattern needed to be mostly stockingnet because, as I stated earlier, mohair is nigh on impossible to rip out.  The extreme halo of the yarn meant that using larger needles (size 4) than the yarn called for gave the finished object an overall lacy effect without leaving gaping holes. The larger needles were also ideal for speed.  The decision to knit this sideways  evolved from the idea of using as much of one skein of yarn as possible without running out.  Also, because many triangular shawls have a point that hangs down quite low on people shorter than 5’5″ (of which I am one) I wanted to taper the sides and then knit even straight across and thus eliminate the point altogether.   The lacy edging was simple and knitted at the same time as the main body of the shawl.

I’m not going to complain that this picture didn’t work out because I had didn’t have to take it myself (the shawl is off-center in this picture so it’s hard to see the center). On both ends the points on the lace face towards the center, then there is a “V” where they meet in the middle.  Overall, it was an enjoyable knitting project. Now on to finish some other  items.

I’m not going to complain about the tons of junk mail filling my box on a daily basis because yesterday this arrived!

It’s a lovely tin full of Roxie’s home-made rumballs in three varieties and an ultra big. ultra pretty washrag.  Thank you Dear!  Can one get tipsy from candy?  It may just be a sugar high but after partaking of several last night I was extremely relaxed.

I’m not going to complain about Roxanna being silly because she is a dear little kitty who breaks into rapturous purrs with even the slightest bit of attention.  Her newest favorite place to nap is in the pantry next to the cookie jar.

I’m not going to complain about Bonny being grumpy because now and then she’ll do something really sweet. She’s taken a shine to A2’s new slippers and she takes every opportunity to smear nostril sauce and drool over them, therefore letting us know that even though she’s not “sociable” , she still loves us (or at least our footwear).

I’m not going to complain about teenaged angst and the drama of thirteen year old girls because I know that my oldest daughter is confident enough to stand up for herself and her friends, even under pressure.   A1 has witnessed the self-destructive behavior of a friend and she refuses to stand by and do nothing.  As a result, said friend is angry with A1. A1 refuses to cover  for her (translation, lie) nor will she pretend to like the friend’s new acquaintance (male, verbally abusive) just to make everyone feel comfortable.  It’s a sticky situation, but I admire A1’s courage. Being a teenager is hard.

I’m not going to complain about having to get up early for work each morning because I have a job.  Working with first graders is fun! I enjoy their company more than that of many adults.

I’m not going to complain about my messy kitchen because I have my own kitchen  to mess up and food to stick to my floor. 

I’m not going to complain about never having a private moment because that means my family wants to be near me.

Now, off to pop a few rumballs, scour the kitchen and take a bath, which is sure to be interrupted. Cheers!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I’m Not Complaining!

  1. Gillian

    I bet you are so proud of A1. Going against peer/friend pressure is so difficult at any age.
    And I love your philosophy on kitchens!!! Please will you start a club so that I can join?
    Cheers Gillian

    • A club sounds lovely! Will you be the president? Amber (A1) is so upset that she went to bed early with a headache last night and she doesn’t want to go to school today because the friend has told people that Amber is a tattletale, etc. I would have never been able to do what she has done. My kitchen can be downright scary!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    Your shawlette is beautiful!!! I’ll bet it is warm, too. You have every reason to be proud of A1. She is an amazing woman! It appears that both Bonny and Roxanne have developed relationships with inanimate objects. What an interesting pair;-D Just squeeze the excess water out of your body parts and keep moving!!! Hugs

  3. I really enjoyed today’s post. Perspective is a good thing which we all sometimes lose and need someone else to help us find once more.

  4. Roxie

    Bless your dear, upbeat heart! What a positive post.

    And hugs to A1! She has done the right thing, and in their hearts, the critical snots know it.

    Yes, you CAN get a bit tipsy from the rumballs – if you want to. There’s about a quarter teaspoon of rum in each rumball. But something about the rum, sugar, and chocolate combination does produce a pleasant sensation in the tummy and the brain.

    The shawl is marvelous! Bravo and applause! And the truncated point is inspired. You are one creative lady.

  5. I shall try to take a cue from you:

    I shall not complain about taking 10 girls to Disneyland–I get to go to Disneyland!

    I shall not complain about how hard I work–I have a job without which we would be living in a box!

    I shall not complain about my children being demanding–at least they are here to ask for things and I love them more than anything!

    I shall not complain about my dirty kitchen–I today I have time to clean it so I can wash dirty fleece in the sinks, yum!

  6. Those are lots of great reasons not to complain! And the shawl looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

