Revelations

The revelations discussed here are not new,  nor are they particularly insightful. These are just some recent personal discoveries. 

1. Weaving is fun.

2. Weaving is a great way to use up left over yarn.

3. Warping a loom can take a long time when it comes to the part where you have to thread warp strings through heddles.

4. I don’t enjoy warping.

5. 20 inches is a nice, finished fabric width.

6. It takes a really long time  (for me it took two hours) to warp 20 inches of loom.

7. I really hate warping.

8. If not for warping I’d love weaving.

9. I’m going to sell this loom as soon as this table runner is off of it.

10. I want to get a Goodwood Loom with a magic heddle someday so I can still weave and not have to thread heddles.

Further revelations… these are regarding the onslaught of rain in the Pacific northwest. This is one of the wettest springs on record and everyone seems to be growing grouchier with each passing gray day.  But it’s not all bad. Here are some reasons why the rain has been good this week.

1. We don’t have to water the lawn.

2.It’s easier to hold the kids’ attention during classes.

3. It comes with rainbows.

4. No one expects you to go outside and do yard work in the rain

5. This guy likes rain better than 80°F in the hot sun.

(we had a first grade field trip to the zoo today in the rain)

6. People are using their inside time creatively. 

(The art teacher where I work brought in a small sample of reverse applique quilting that he’s doing on larger scales with other projects)

7. Less exposure to U.V. rays mean fewer chances of developing melanoma later in life.

8.  The girls aren’t nagging me to get the backyard pool set up.

That’s about it.  If I read this list over and over again then perhaps I’ll stop whining about rain too.  It could happen.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Revelations

  1. Roxie

    These overcast, cool, moist days keep us young looking. Cosmetics companies come to the Pac. NW to find models because we have the prettiest skin up here.

    My brother-out-law (They’re not married) has been a cop inLA for 20 years. He can judge a person’s age within a couple of years just with a glance. When he met me, he couldn’t believe that I was as old as he is. I finally had to take out my driver’s license to prove it. He thought I was younger than DH’s sis, who is actually 7 years younger than I am. Ahh, these damp and dismal days pay off in the long run.

    Wait till you get on a floor loom. Weaving will go from fun to transcendent.

    Warping gets easier with time, but it’s never the funnest part.

  2. Karen O

    I may be interested in the loom…I need more info! Love, K

    • Hey there. You can wrap the warp around the warp beam and my guess is that you could probably (depending on the weight of the warp yarn) get up to 3 to 4 yards before you’d start having problems with it being too close to the heddle rest. I shake to darned much to thread all of the little holes without a tremendous amount of patience and effort. Here’s a copy of the text I used in the Ravelry listing. I don’t know if it will tell you too much more.

      I recently bought this loom and quickly discovered that although weaving is enjoyable, warping isn’t my thing. I’d like to sell this and wait and try weaving again when I can afford a Goodwood Magic Heddle loom. Anyway, this loom measures 20 inches across. It has plastic pegs on both the warp and the fabric bars. The heddle is made out of wood and plastic as well. There are two shuttles and the original warping instruction sheet is included. This comes completely apart for shipping. I can’t find a manufacturer’s name on either the loom. The instruction sheet says, “OMS, Inc. Minneapolis, MN”. I could find no information online about this company or loom.

  3. Carmen

    HP — I love your crafty goodness. And you are a very entertaining blogger, my friend.

  4. Reverse applique has become my favorite method. it’s a great project to practice handstitches.
    As for the loom, like Roxie says, wait ’til you get a floor loom. There’s NO comparison.

  5. Evey time someone mentions weaving, I think about the floor loom in my garage. Wish we lived closer together so we could both play with it.

  6. knitwonpurltoo

    I wish you could get a good loom now. I don’t have a clue about weaving, but I am glad you enjoy it. We have had rain and bouts of high temps and humidity. Weird year. Happy Friday, kiddo!!

  7. I’m just entertaining the idea of buying a loom. Now your making me think again. I took a weaving class once (long ago) and that is the only thing I remember Ick warping..
    *giggles*
    I agree, hot out, do more inside
    Vicki

Leave a Reply

