On String Theory

With all due respect to  Brian Greene,  I must adamantly disagree with his hypothesis.  Sometimes, especially in our corner of the galaxy, the universe isn’t quite as elegant as it could be.  The thread that unites us is, indeed, covered with random bits of crap that fly haphazardly to unexpected places. 

Stevie the Wonder Cat took his first visit to our regular veterinarian’s office. 

He was completely freaked out by the friendly woofers in the waiting room. Thankfully I’d opted to put him in the small cardboard box instead of one of the large, open ended carriers. As it was, the other patrons withdrew when the box started hissing, growling and thrashing around on the floor.

I received the anticipated lecture about pet safety and the dangers of leaving sewing notions strewn about.  The vet palpitated, listened to and tried to massage Steve’s guts, but no outward signs of distress were noted.  The minor amount of probing was met with resistance, but no leads. In the end I was told to cat proof my house, watch Steve to make sure he wasn’t in pain and to just see what came out of in the end.  To keep the trip from being a complete waste of time he got two shots. We left $80.00 lighter and when we got home Steve chose his usual anti-social activity with the roll of paper towels left in my bedroom.

The rest of the day flew by in a blur of work and school meetings.  I couldn’t sleep last night because of nerves. Today A1 starts high school, A2 will break in a new teacher and A3’s teacher didn’t even know that she had a 504 plan in place for her Aspberger’s.  I meet my new students today too.  I’ve ironed, packed and even chosen a plain knitting project, should free time arise today.

Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “On String Theory

  1. Roxie

    Bless your dear heart, and Steve’s dear guts. You wonder about doctors who tell you, “You shouldn’t have done that,” when it is quite clear to the dimmest bulb that the results are not felicitous. It’s not like you said, “Hmm, I think I’ll leave this thread out where Steve can get it caught on his tongue and then we can have a little shit-storm when it finally makes its through. Or maybe that isn’t such a good idea after all. Oh, what the hell – I’ll risk it.” You don’t kknow you have a thread-eater till he’s eaten thread. You have a history of cats who have never eaten thread. Why should you expect this one to be different?

    Would you mind if I share your post with some friends who could use a laugh?

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    You got a lecture? Sheesh. Did you tell him it was a plan? Hang on, kiddo!!!!!

  3. Karen O

    Did you tell the vet that you wanted to floss the cat? It’s all the rage…

  4. I’m sure my cats and dogs have eaten loads of threads, and how they don’t get skewered by pins is a mystery. One cat I knew did eat too much thread with sad results, but somehow he had consumed yards.
    Poor Hattie is in her 90s, of dog years, so little personal packages do pop out on occasion, she does not deign to notice anything is amiss. As long as she doesn’t get the runs I can cope.
    What does get me excited is the cat massacred loo rolls. Why do they do that?

Leave a Reply

