First Week Back

The first week back to work seemed to last forever and ended with a fizzle, rather than a bang.  By the time the weekend rolled around the girls and I were all exhausted. A3 actually went to the nurse’s office at school after lunch Friday because she didn’t feel good. She fell asleep and didn’t wake up until I was ready to go home. A1 has some kind of coughing, hacking crud that we’re trying to confine to just her.  As a result, she didn’t have any big social plans and she slept most of the weekend.  My DH had 12 hour training days, three days in a row,  so the poor fellow was virtually non-existent. A2 settled in with her buddy, Steven, and the two of them snacked, watched t.v., napped, etc. in intervals. They’re great pals.

Between laundry and wrangling A3 I started a pair of socks.  They’re basically the Rivendell pattern (I made some several summers ago), but with modifications. The wrapped stitches look fabulous, but they’re a little tight so I decided not to include them. The socks looked a little plain without the wraps so I added some glass beads for some “bling” action. I’m happy with how they’re turning out. 

I’m attempting to spin silk on my Louet wheel. In the past I’ve opted to use a drop spindle for silk because my wheel is designed for heavier fibers.  Drafting the bejesus out of the hankies and actually unhooking the tension brake make spinning on the wheel possible.  The callouses on my hands are so rough that I have to wear gloves in order to draft or spin without becoming hopelessly tangled though. 

The weather reports keep taunting us with snow, but only a few flakes fell today and none of them stuck.   I’m not asking for a blizzard, but a few days of wintry play would be appreciated.  Is it wrong for adults to want a snow day?

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “First Week Back

  1. Boy, that Steven sure has worked his way into being a part of the family.
    And, I know what you mean about spinning silk and rough hands. I’m finding dish pan hands helps. Or powder, if you’re not allergic. But gloves is an interesting option. (I’m picturing you wearing those big black rubber gloves that the mad scientists wear!)

  2. Penny

    No shame in wishing for a snow day. Somedays I call the work hotline before I get out of bed!

  3. A2- Steven photo packs a lot of awwwwwwww! Good luck with that silk. And those callouses.

  4. knitwonpurltoo

    That is a darling pic. You needed this weekend so much, kiddo! And, the silk is stunning. You want snow? Come on down. We’re looking at 3-6″ today and tonight. Hugs, hunny!!!!

  5. Roxie

    A2 and Steve have bonded quite splendidly. Love that photo.
    Poor A1. Poor A3. Poor DH.
    Your Rivendell with bling socks rock!
    Take a quarter cup of sugar and add enough olive or cooking oil to make a paste. Scrub your calluses with that for a bit, rinse off – use a little soap if you must – pat dry and see if it makes the silk spinning easier. Makes a nice body scrub if you wanna help DH with his shower.

  6. Karen O

    Love the look of the silk stuff. What are you going to do with it?
    I started knitted a hat with some green Cascade 220–no pattern…just wingin’ it. I also have another project on another set of needles for Kelly. I’ll have to post pictures of it later.
    Hope all recover from long days and hacking yuck.

  7. Sorry to hear you’ve been having such medical issues; I hope the detox is working.

    I love the first picture; I wish our cat was more mellow and less, um, fierce.

    It seems the sickness is traveling the country. It’s skipped our house so far but all my coworkers have gone down — and it lasts and lasts. Knocking on wood….

    Good luck with the silk spinning. It’s so beautiful.

  8. Gillian Margaret Campbell

    Beautiful silk spinning. Well done with the patience it needs. And keep up with the diet coke abstinence. It is tricky because it is close to an addiction, but it has such a poor record for increasing MS symptoms that it has to be the best thing you do this year.
    Cheers and Happy New Year
    Gillian

  9. Long time no blog, so I suspect you are not well. Lots of nasty chesty virus rotating round here too. Hope you and yours will soon be hale and hearty again. Daft expression but contains lots of vigour so I send it your way xx

Leave a Reply

