WTF Wednesday

WTF Definitions: In my reading class I often ask students to retell stories that we’re studying to check their comprehension.  I give them sticky notes to mark any words or passages giving them trouble.  Following a particularly long story with lots of new vocabulary I noticed that none of the students had written anything down or asked any questions.  They assured me that they “got it” all and that the story made perfect sense.  Being ever the skeptic I randomly chose some words and asked them to tell me what they meant. These were some of the answers:

tundra:  Loud thunder. Fat. Mud.

vast: very+fast= vast

disgust: talking

For some reason, I don’t think they “got it”.

WTF News: Some stories just leave a foul taste in your mouth.  “Woman Claims Yogurt Sample Tasted of Semen”  The male employee handing out the samples has previous arrest charges based on sexual misconduct.  If he did taint the yogurt samples then I hope he’s charged with assault.  As for the woman who reported this… how could she not be embarrassed. I’ll bet the reporting officer disgust this with his/her co-workers back at the station.

WTF Shopping: My DH really likes this sleeping bag.  The lightsaber zipper pull is a nice detail. 

Even on sale at $79.99 though it isn’t in our budget.  Besides, I don’t think this is rated to keep you as warm as a real tauntaun.

Personally, I’d rather have the chain mail from the ThinkGeek site. Not for any particular reason, just because. I’d totally wear it to work, but I wouldn’t be able to move vast through all of the tundra on the playground.

Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “WTF Wednesday

  1. is Dobby in your class? She used to pull crap like that all the time. ;o)

    that sleeping bag cracks me up every time I see it, hehe

  2. Roxie

    I LOVE this! It’s hard to be vast in the tundra. I’ve disgust the problems with many people.

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    But, that Tauntaun looks alot like a horsey to me. I thought they looked more like llamas. Is my memory that bad? I love your reading story. Kids are so literal;-D Of course, I don’t think the story could have made any sense at all if those words were misunderstood. And, the yogurt story. Um, yeah;-P

Leave a Reply

