WTF Convictions

 Some people can say anything, and no matter how bizarre, others believe them without question because they say it with conviction.  The gentleman in this video looks and sounds like an expert with his white coat and visual aids. 

He’s so authoritative and self-assured that I really want to believe his nonsensical gobbledygook.

My 12-year-old daughter’s science class just heard the exciting news that they will be dissecting cow eyeballs.  A2 is beyond mortified.  Heck, we can barely get her to eat any meat because she feels sorry for  critters being killed. She would rather spend time playing with animals than hanging out with people. She’s not naive though.  She knows that the cows were not killed merely for their peepers, nor are there blind Bessies walking around a field somewhere bumping into fences.  These cows were most likely slaughtered for food, leather, etc. and these bits were just scavenged before being chopped up with other scraps for pet food and hot pockets.  She also knows that dissecting and studying the eyeball will be very educational.  If she chooses not to participate in this lab then she will get a zero and have to do a make-up paper.  She said that the paper would be “really hard.”  By “really hard” she means lengthy, intense and challenging.  So now A2 has to decide if her convictions against harming animals  are worth taking on an extra homework assignment (she won’t have enough time to do all of the paper in class), or if she’d rather take advantage of the cow’s sacrifice (not that it had a choice) to learn something new.  I’ll back her decision either way, but I expect her to be committed to her choice.  If she opts to dissect the eye then she had best find all of the parts, label them, study them, etc. and not complain or whine during the endeavor.  Should she choose to write the paper then it will be worthy of publication before I’ll deem it finished.   In the overall scheme of life this is a small decision, but right now, to her, this is epic.  Who knows, at some point in the future her convictions and committment might be an example for the world.

Tiananmen Square Tank Man June, 1989

Too bad there isn’t a pattern for knitting a cow eyeball floating around out there.  Several years back I made this for A1’s science teacher. It’s from a pattern called, “Biology Frog” that a seller has available on Etsy.  It wasn’t difficult to knit, but it was fiddly, with lots of ends to weave in.  A1 did not have to dissect frogs that year and I seriously doubt that this would have been an acceptable substitution for the real thing, but it was still fun to make and the teacher loved it.

 

The weather in the southwest Washington area lacks conviction. Temperatures hover in the mid to upper 30’s (Farenheit), while cold, sometimes slushy, rain blows sideways.  Thirty minutes later the clouds disappear, sun shines down and I feel like planting something. Mother nature’s bi-polar mood swings are driving everyone in this region crazy and nobody knows how to dress for the day.

Time to go search my wardrobe for a tank top that matches my galoshes and mittens.  I don’t know what the day holds, but I hope to stick to my convictions… or at least sound confident enough to b.s. my way through anything that may arise. And should I ride any fences today then may a blind cow bump into me and knock me right off. Cheers! 

p.s., today would have been my Grandma Eva’s 95th birthday.  I still talk to her sometimes.  And she answers. Happy birthday Grandma!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “WTF Convictions

  1. To the guy in the lab coat: huh? I think he pulled nouns out of a physics dictionary and randomly connected them with verbs.

    A2: a tough decision, but either way, you’re using your noodle. Good for you! I can say, once I got past the whole animal dead thing, dissections were pretty fascinating. Except I refused to pith a frog.

  2. My my goodness! That frog is a scream. I still remember my bilogy class where one of the geeks in the class went around collecting frog hearts and livers and such and putting them in his shirt pocket. Needless to say, he didn’t get any of my and my partner’s frog. We named her Henrietta. Strange the things you remember 30+ years ago.

  3. Cow eyeball was one of my favorite dissections!! I carried around that golden eye lens in my pocket for a long time. It’s still probably up on my bookshelf at my parents house somewhere…

  4. Dave D

    Ha ha ha, blind Bessies wandering around the cornfields with their walking sticks!
    All this eyeball talk makes me want to make some hard boiled eggs.

  5. Roxie

    Y’know, with all the sruff that goy in the lab coat had to say, the part I completely understood is, “It’s expensive. But we’re sure the government will buy it.”

    Vetss have to open up live animals to fix them sometimes. If someone is goin to take out my cat’s appendix (as it were) I want that someone to have practiced once or twice at least. Vets have to dissect dead animals to learn to recognize all the parts on live animals. Maybe A2 can be a veterinarian chiropractor.

    Maybe blind cows get seeing eye dogs.

  6. knitwonpurltoo

    Poor A2. That would be a hard decision. Hope you got the day off school!!!

Leave a Reply

