Mid-Week Report

Not much happening here, but that’s a good thing.  Another F.O. has been added to my gift box.  These were made with some left-over sock yarn and there were only 26 inches of yarn left when they were completed.  They aren’t the most attractive things to look at, but at least they are functional.

Lately I’ve been trying to ramp up the girls’ lunches so they don’t get bored. Soup in a thermos turned out messy and/or impossible.  Either the lids would not seal and they’d leak, or else the lids would seal, but become pressure-locked so that nobody could open them. PB and J gets old after several months and there were some days where even the fruit, etc. came home uneaten. Two or three times a week  now I’ve been putting together our own versions of Bento boxes.  They seem to enjoy the variety… for now.  Once the novelty wears off then they’ll probably stop eating these lunches too.  Feeding everyone at home is much easier.

         

Thursday evening A1’s play opens.  Performances run for  two weeks.  A2 hasn’t disclosed if she’s entering anything in her school’s art show yet, but I hope she will. A3 might be playing the piano for her school’s talent show because her teacher talked her into auditioning.  Cheers!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Mid-Week Report

  1. Karen O

    How cool! Love the gloves–funky and functional! The Bento Box idea is awesome, although I don’t think I’d want to spend that much time putting lunches together. They look awesome! Em’s play starts in four weeks, I think. They’re doing Beauty & the Beast. What is A1 doing?

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    I want your lunches. They are beautiful! The mitts are cool and will make a lovely gift. You are so busy, girl!

  3. Roxie Matthews

    The gloves have QUIRK! Way to go. After the week you just finished, I think you are due for a week when nothing happens.

    And the lunches totally rock. Lucky kids! I used to makeup a dozen bologna sandwiches at a time and stick them in the freezer, then just grab sandwich and stick it in my bag as I left the house. It wasn’t tasty, but it filled in the empty space. Maybe they should be involved in lunch box planning and preparation? When they head out in the world, they’ll have to know how to feed themselves.

    • The girls often fend for themselves, but left to their own devices for lunch, they’d probably just take a box of dry cereal or starve. They aren’t the best at planning. I LOVE the idea of frozen sandwiches to go. It might be happening here.

  4. Nice gloves! Love teh bento boxes!

    • Thank you Valerie. The gloves don’t match and the OCD side of me can’t stand to look at them. The girls are getting peanut butter and honey sandwiches today… no time for Bento.

  5. The Spa Goddess

    Lucky girls!

  6. Gillian redumbrella

    Great lunches and a real treat. I tried something like that once but I was the only one who brought the lunch box back to be re-filled!
    I wish I had someone to make one for me.
    Thanks for your comments about Tigger. I am still a bit fragile but have reserved another kitty which will be ready in June. It just seems so far away.
    Good luck girls with all your arts and culture in the next couple of weeks.
    Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

