Can We Have a Do Over?

The weekend weather couldn’t have been more perfect!  Blue skies, warm air, no mosquitos or wasps… it was heavenly.  As of this morning our flowering cherry tree is about 3/4 of the way open.  I adore this tree and wish that the blooms would last longer than several weeks (barring any windstorms).

I finished another “Potato Chip” scarf for the gift box.  This netted tape yarn was a different brand than the skein I used to make the last scarf.  The former yarn didn’t have as much yardage so this version was longer than the first; however, the first skein was a little wider so the scarf was more ruffly.  I definitely prefer the wider yarn. Too bad that I threw away the labels before seeing which was which.

 Another weekend knitting project was trying to mend a much-mangled fingerless mitt that belongs to a friend’s daughter. It looked like the poor thing had fallen into a garbage disposal and little bits of yarn were sticking out all over.

 In one place only a scant row separated one hole from the other. This was one of those times when I wish that my mom or grandma was nearby because they would have known exactly how to fix this.  The only thing I could think to do was to remove the remaining center row, pick up stitches around the whole, new, bigger hole and then attempt to knit while picking up the side stitches.

The other problem was that I couldn’t find matching yarn for the patched places.  The color differences really showed in the natural light too, so it drove me crazy (short trip) while working on this.

Steven was very helpful.  Adding kitty saliva really made the yarn slide easily and helped graft the loose ends together.

 The end results weren’t quite what I’d hoped for, but the gloves will be serviceable again. I hope the young lady won’t be too disappointed.

On Friday I saw a former student.  He was wearing a hat that I’d knitted for him two years but it barely fit him.  I asked if he wanted a new one and he said, “Yes. An orange hat.”  Here is the start of his orange hat.  He probably won’t need it again until next fall, but I’ll give it to his mom this week to put away.

While I knitted away like an old lady, the rest of my family pursued other endeavors.  My DH taught a class down in Eugene, Oregon. My eldest child and one of her friends made their first attempt at a life of crime.

their friend’s car

 

My middle daughter drew pictures and entertained herself by alternating between sitting outside in the sun and then finding me to whine about how boring her weekend was.

My youngest skipped around in the sunshine and spent her days bringing every toy and blanket she could find outside.

Yes, my friends, it was a good weekend. Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Can We Have a Do Over?

  1. Karen O

    Delightful! What a gorgeous drawing from A2 and a gorgeous photo of A3! Looks like everyone was having a good time. Just posted my goings-on myself…I have a bunch of things that I’m working on and will have to take more photos. Hugs!!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    You did a great job on the mitt. It would have been nearly impossible to match in that big an expanse of white. A2 is getting better and better isn’t she? A1 is such a teenager;-P And, A3 is still your baby (thankfully!!) Hugs, kiddle.

  3. basicallybenita

    My goodness – your middle daughter can draw!!! That cat is stunning.

Leave a Reply

