Sunday, July 1

 Here is the handspun hat for my dad’s birthday. The lighter portions contain 100% alpaca from natural tri-colored roving.  The brown stripes are wool of an unknown variety.  It’s very fuzzy and very warm, but it doesn’t gain high marks for aesthetics.

I made a pair of mittens to go with the baby hat. I’ve not seen babies wear mittens before, and I doubt they are practical, but they were fun to make.  I’m going to break out my lucet and try to remember how to make a loss prevention cord.  I’ve not used one in a long time, so it may take some practice to get the knack of it. 

The current UFO project I’m working on is a pair of cabled socks.  The yarn is denim colored handspun that I bought from Dave Daniels several years ago.  It’s incredibly soft and springy yarn to work with.

Bonny is spending more and more time flirting with Steven.  She likes to be near him, but only on her terms.

If Steven makes first contact then she transforms into a raving psycho cat.   He’s mostly indifferent to her attempts at friendship.

Lately Roxanna has taken to spending most of her time under A1’s bed.  I wish I knew what they were thinking. Cheers!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sunday, July 1

  1. Your Stephen and mine [Him Indoors] have traits in common]

  2. Roxie Matthews

    Steven is playing hard to get. Roxanna is playing impossible to find. Bonnie is playing with a short deck.

    The hat is awesome sauce. I know babies who have had to wear mitties to keep them from scratching their own faces. Mittiesaregood, and those are darling!

    If the lucet doesn’t work, betcha Dave could give you a tutorial. I remember he did a wonderful photo essay on how to lucet. Or, you could go path of least resistance and chain a cord with your fingers.

  3. Karen O

    Fingerloop braiding works, or just make a four-strand twisty thing. I could show you when I get down south, which I hope will happen sooner rather than later. Hugs all around!

  4. sophanne

    Sometimes I’ve seen thumbless mittens for babies. I don’t think the brown is aesthetically displeasing

Leave a Reply

