Kumoricon 2012, Day 1

The rest of the family is still at the convention, but I came home to bathe, change my clothes and rest a few minutes before heading back down to the excitement and mayhem.  As promised, here are some pictures from the first few hours.

 

Madame Red, Celebi, Pikachu, Cabbage Man, Mew

My DH was a HUGE hit! Everywhere he went people would scream out, “It’s Cabbage Man!” and he’d reply, “My cabbages!” Members from the costume judging panel asked him to enter the costume contest (why he has a blue ribbon on his badge). Several people stole his cabbages, but they were always returned.

All three of the girls were entered into a Live Action Role Playing, LARP, Pokemon battle and A3 won the entire contest.  I took videos, but they take a lot longer to process than still pictures, so they may or may not make it to Youtube later.

It was really hot outside, so I waded in the fountain with some local kiddos.  People thought it strange that I left my tights on, but there was no way to remove them gracefully… besides, it’s only a costume and the boots were quite uncomfortable after six hours.

I did bring some wool and cast on a pair of socks, but not much progress was made.

There were so many amazing costumes that watching the people walking around and taking pictures consumed a great portion of the day.  Here are a few of my favorites, in no particular order.

 

The girls want to stay and attend a J-Pop dance that begins at 10:30 pm, but I don’t think that they’ll be able to hold out that long. Tomorrow is another day, with completely different costumes for the girls and ending in a formal ball in the evening.  They will definitely sleep well each night. Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Kumoricon 2012, Day 1

  1. Thank you so much for posting! I’m in Japan right now and missing Kumoricon. Your post and pictures (I LOOOOOOOVVVEE cabbage man and your cosplay is adorable!) make me feel like I’m not completely missing out.

  2. Roxie Matthews

    What a fabulous day! I can see why Cabbage Man was a huge hit. You are a genius with that sewing machine! Madame Red totally rocks. (Did you spray-paint those boots? They areSO hot!) And your Pokemon dolls are too adorable for words! A3 won? Awesome!

    More photos Sunday, right?

  3. Sounds like you are all having a blast!

  4. Gillian

    I just loved this. It is something I know nothing about. It’s as if I’m in a different world from you all. What a great time you had and congrats A3.
    Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

